To be Knights Commanders of the said Most Exalted Order:—

Sir Steyning William Edgerley, K.C.V.O., C.I.E., Member of the Council of India.

Harrington Verney Lovett, Esq., C.S.J., Indian Civil Service, Commissioner of the Lucknow Division, United Provinces, and a Member of the Council of the Lieutenant-Governor for making Laws and Regulations.

Robert Woodburn Gillan, Esq., C.S.I., Indian Civil Service, President of the Railway Board.

Maharaj Sri Bhairon Singh Bahadur, C.S.I., Vice-President and Political Member of the State Council, Bikaner, Rajputana.

To be Companions of the said Most Exalted Order:—

Henry Sharp, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Educational Service, Officiating Secretary to the Government of India in the Education Department, and an Additional Member of the Council of the Governor-General for making Laws and Regulations.

Ludovic Charles Porter, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, lately Secretary to the Government of India in the Education Department.

Robert Russell Scott, Esq., Principal Clerk, The Admiralty, late Joint Secretary, Indian Public Services Commission.

India Office,

1st January, 1916.

The KING has been graciously pleased to make the following appointment to the Most Exalted Order of the Star of India in recognition of the services of the undermentioned Officer in connection with the War:—

To be an Additional Companion of the said Most Exalted Order:—

Lieutenant-Colonel John Walter Edward, Baron Montagu of Beaulieu, V.D., Commandant, 2/7 Hampshire Regiment.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George,

Downing Street, 1st January, 1916.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotions in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:—

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

Lieutenant-General Sir Herbert Scott Gould Miles, G.C.B., C.V.O., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the City and Garrison of Gibraltar. To be an Honorary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

His Highness, Ibrahim, Sultan of the State and Territory of Johore, K.C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

Sir Edward Marsh Merewether K.C.V.O., C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Sierra Leone.

William Lamond Allardyce, Esq., C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Bahama Islands.

The Honourable William Thomas White, Minister of Finance of the Dominion of Canada.

The Honourable Thomas MacKenzie, High Commissioner for New Zealand in the United Kingdom.

The Honourable Sir Charles Kinnaird Mackellar, Knt., Member of the Legislative Council of the State of New South Wales, and lately President of the State Children's Relief Board.

Collingwood Schreiber, Esq., C.M.G., General Consulting Engineer to the Government of the Dominion of Canada.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

Thomas Alexander Vans Best, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Leeward Islands.

Thomas Inglis Binnie, Esq., Director of Public Works, Nyasaland Protectorate.

James Rufus Boosé, Esq., Travelling Commissioner, Royal Colonial Institute.

William Brymner, Esq., President of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

John Cadman, Esq., D.Sc., Professor of Mining in the University of Birmingham; Petroleum Adviser to the Colonial Office, and Coal Mining Adviser to the Government of Nigeria.

Lieutenant-Colonel Henry James Grasett, Chief Constable, Toronto.

The Honourable Victor Albert Nelson Hood, Private Secretary to the Governor of Victoria.

Surgeon-General Guy Carleton Jones, Director of Medical Services; Canadian Expeditionary Force.

Brigadier-General James Charles Mac-Dougall, Commanding Canadian Training Division; Canadian Expeditionary Force.

John Middleton, Esq., M.A., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Mauritius.

Charles Frederick Wray Palliser, Esq., Secretary, Office of the High Commissioner for New Zealand.

Bernard Senior, Esq., I.S.O., Treasurer of the Island of Ceylon.

Adam Smith, Esq., Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.