LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SCOTLAND) ACTS.

COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTORAL DIVISIONS OF THE COUNTY OF LANARK WITHIN THE BURGHS OF GOVAN, PARTICK, AND MOTHERWELL, AND THE PARISHES OF BOTHWELL. CAMBUS-LANG, AND CADDER.

Whereas the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County of Lanark were determined by an Order under the hand and seal of the Secretary for Scotland, dated 16th May, 1899;

And whereas the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the police burghs of Govan and Partick were altered by Orders under the hand and seal of the Secretary for Scotland, dated 11th October, 1901, and 14th September, 1904, respectively;

And whereas by deliverance of the Sheriff of the County of Lanark, dated 16th March, 1906, the municipal wards of the police burgh of Motherwell were increased from four to five, and altered in description so that, as now con-""" stituted, they do not coincide with the County Council electoral divisions as determined under the said Order of the Secretary for Scotland, dated 16th May, 1899;

And whereas the police burghs of Govan, Partick, and Motherwell, and the parishes of Bothwell and Cambuslang have within recent years increased in population and annual value;

And whereas certain parts of the Parish of Cadder, which is divided into two electoral divisions, have increased in population and annual value so as to make it advisable that the description of the contents and boundaries of these divisions should be readjusted;

And whereas, in view of the aforesaid material change of circumstances, the County Council of Lanark have applied to me for an Order in terms of Section 51 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, providing for, *inter alia*, an increase in the representation of the Burghs of Govan, Partick, and Motherwell, and of the Parishes of Bothwell and Cambuslang, and for the readjustment of the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions therein as well as in the Parish of Cadder;

And whereas I am of opinion that it is expedient to give effect to the application of the said County Council, subject to certain modifications.

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable John Sinclair, His Majesty's Secretary for Scotland, in virtue of the powers conferred upon me by the said Acts, do hereby order and determine that the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions within the police burghs of Govan, Partick, and Motherwell, and the Parishes of Bothwell, Cambuslang, and Cadder, shall be as follows, viz. :--

BURGH OF GOVAN.

GOVAN (NORTH PLANTATION).—That part of the Fifth Municipal Ward of the police burgh of Govan which lies to the north of the centre of Paisley Road, and to the east of a line drawn in a northerly direction from the junction of Paisley Road and Maclean Street along the centre of Maclean Street to its northmost point,

and thence continuing in the same direction as the said street to the burgh boundary.

GOVAN (CESSNOCK).—That part of the Fifth Municipal Ward not included in the North Plantation Division.

GOVAN (BELLAHOUSTON).—The Sixth Municipal Ward.

GOVAN (WHITEFIELD).—The Fourth Municipal Ward.

GOVAN (BROOMLOAN).—The Third Municipal Ward.

GOVAN (CROSS).—Those parts of the First and Second Municipal Wards of the police burgh of Govan which lie to the east of a line drawn in a southerly direction from the burgh boundary at the north end of Holme Street along the centre of the said street to its southmost point, thence direct to the north end of Harmony Row, and along the centre of Harmony Row to its junction with Marr Street, thence along the centre of Marr Street to its junction with Helen Street, and thence along the centre of Helen Street to the southern boundary of the burgh.

GOVAN (FAIRFIELD).—That part of the First Municipal Ward not included in the Cross Electoral Division.

GOVAN (CRAIGTON).—That part of the Second Municipal Ward not included in the Cross Electoral Division.

GOVAN (LINTHOUSE).—The Seventh Municipal Ward.

BURGH OF PARTICK.

PARTICK EAST.—The First Municipal Ward. PARTICK EAST CENTRAL.—The Second Muni-

cipal Ward.

PARTICK CENTRAL.—The Third Municipal Ward.

PARTICK WEST CENTRAL.—The Fourth Municipal Ward.

BROOMHILL.—The Fifth Municipal Ward. WHITEINCH.—The Sixth Municipal Ward.

BURGH OF MOTHERWELL.

MOTHERWELL (SOUTH).—The First Municipal Ward.

MOTHERWELL (EAST).—The Third Municipal Ward.

MOTHERWELL (NORTH).—The Fourth Municipal Ward.

MOTHERWELL (WEST).—The Second and Fifth Municipal Wards.

PARISH OF BOTHWELL.

HOLYTOWN .- That part of the Parish of Bothwell which lies to the north of the Dalzel Electoral Division and east of a line drawn along the centre of the Caledonian Railway from Coatbridge to Motherwell northwards till it reaches a point opposite the north boundary fence of the plantation marked "Reset Plantstion" on the Ordnance Survey Map; thene to the said boundary fence; thence following the line of said fence eastwards, north-eastwards, and eastwards till it reaches the march fence which separates the estates of Cambre and Woodhall; thence in an easterly, northerly, north-easterly, and northerly direction along the march between the estates of Cambroe and Woodhall till it reaches the North Calder Water.

BELLSHILL (EAST).—That part of the Parish of Bothwell which lies to the west of the Holytown Division, to the north of the South Calder