The Civil Service Commissioners further give notice that an Open Competitive Examination for Girl Clerkships in the General Post Office will be held in London, Edinburgh, Dublin, Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, Southampton, Aberdeen, Belfast, and Cork, under the foregoing Regulations, commencing on the 1st September 1903.

Appointments will be offered to not fewer than 35 of the Candidates highest on the list, provided they obtain the necessary aggregate of marks and are duly qualified in other respects.

No person will be admitted to Examination from whom the Secretary of the Civil Service Commission has not received, on or before the 13th August, an application in the handwriting of the Candidate, on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretary at once.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

July 3, 1903.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her late Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the under-mentioned Appointments, Transfers, and Promotion in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of June 1903:—

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty—Robert Edward Andrews, to be Clerk (with Technical Knowledge) in the Department of the Director of Naval Construction.

Robert John Wright, to be Confidential Shorthand Writer.

Thomas Edwin Grout, to be Pensioner Writer in His Majesty's Naval Establishments.

Sydney Leonard Britnell, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Agriculture, Board of—Arthur Gace Langley, to be Second Class Draughtsman in the Survey Branch.

Alfred Layzell and Alexander Moore, to be Established Civil Assistants on the Ordnance Survey.

Lilian Grace Cooke and Harriet Stevens, to be Female Typists.

British Museum—Harold Idris Bell and Wilfred Alexander Marsden, to be Assistants.

Charity Commission—John Frobisher Mills, to be Assistant Commissioner.

Chief Secretary's Office (Ireland) — Matthew Hynes, to be Librarian.

Colonial Office—Margaret Julia Tennant, to be Female Typist.

Consular Service—Richard Massie Graves, Charles Alexis Greig, and Clifford Edward Heathcote-Smith, to be Student Interpreters for the Ottoman Dominions, Persia, Greece, or Morocco.

-Customs—George Parkinson Burns, to be Second Class Clerk (Lower Section) for Port Service.

Education, Board of—Lionel James Ernest Swift, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Christine Mary Richard and Olave Marion Alice Yorke, to be Female Typists.

Home Office—Robert Hartley Birtwistle, Arthur David Edwards, Leonard Hield, John Kewley, and George Edward Smith, to be Assistants to Inspectors of Factories and Workshops.

Christopher Benuett, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Inland Revenue—Percy Collis Bellsham, to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes.

James Edward Fisher, to be Assistant Office-keeper.

Alice Maud Assheton, Emily Couch, and Bertha Mary Turner, to be Female Assistants in the Office of the Controller of Stamps and Stores.

Beatrice Mary Cleave and Florence Susan Harding, to be Female Typists in the Secretaries' Office.

Land Registry Office—Robert Harper, to be Third Class Clerk.

Local Government Board (England)—Arthur Owen Hobbs and Frederick James Welch, to be Staff Officers.

William John Solomon Knights, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Mercantile Marine Offices — James Valentine Burch, to be Clerk or Deputy Superintendent.

Patent Office—Edward Little, to be Assistant Examiner.

Post Office—William Price, C.M.G., to be Clerk of the Upper Division in the Secretary's Office.

William George Arnold, Frank Bailey, James Barry, Frederick Blackwell, William Boddington, William Edward Bower, John Alexander Brolly, Walter Clifford Burns, William Campbell, Ernest Carlile Capleton, Daniel Joseph Coveney, Ralph Crook, Stanley Crowther, Ernest Robert Davis, Charles William Stuart Downer, Thomas Christopher Eady, Arthur Henry Edmonds, Henry Herber Evans, Alfred Freeland Glover, David James Halliday, William Hudson, William Jack, Fred Howard Mayn Jolliffe, Albert James Langridge, Fergus William M'Morran, David M'Pherson, Fred Morton, Ninian Morton, Joseph Brendan O'Connell, Alfred Henry Oliver, Charles Cecil Ransley, Fred Russell, Sydney Ernest Selby, Sydney Stanley Skeel, James Arthur Campbell Sloan, John Alexander Sumner, William Henry Symons, Frederick Richard Hawkins Vidler, Michael Walsh, and Howard Mark Woolley, to be appointed to Clerkships grouped under the Scheme for the Supplementary Establishment of the Secretary's Office, London.

Frank John William Atherton Wint, to be Second Class Travelling Clerk in the Confidential Enquiry Branch.

Frederick Charles Osborne, to be Second Class Engineer.

Norman Lumsden Smith, to be Switchroom Manager at the Central Telephone Exchange.

Oliver Billington, Frederic Charles Harding, Robert M'Guffog, and Winfred Walder, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Elizabeth Christie Forbes, to be Sub-Post-mistress (Sandyford).

Winifred Harriett Allinson, Emily Marcella Anderson, Helen Burness Cruickshank, Lorna Pearl Dawson, Selina Elizabeth Lowe, Violet Louise Marshall, Alice Michie, Adeline Toyn-