

## The Edinburgh Gazette

## Published by Authority.

## TUESDAY, AUGUST 19, 1902.

PRIVY COUNCIL OFFICE, DUBLIN CASTLE, August 13, 1902.

T a Meeting of the Privy Council held this day in the Council Chamber. Dublin Castle, the Right Honourable the Lord Chaucellor and the Right Honourable Viscount Powerscourt, K.P., were sworn Lords Justices for the Government of Ireland on the departure of His Excellency the Earl Cadogan, K.G., from Ireland.

J. B. DOUGHERTY.

## CROWN OFFICE, August 15, 1902.

The King has been pleased by several Letters Patent under the Great Seal to appoint:—

The Right Honourable Arthur James Balfour to be Lord Keeper of the Privy Seal.

The Right Honourable Arthur James Balfour; the Right Honourable Charles Thomson Ritchie, and Henry Torrens Anstruther, Esq.; the Honourable Ailwyn Edward Fellowes, and Henry William Forster, Esq., to be Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury.

The Right Honourable Charles Thomson Ritchie to be Chancellor and Under Treasurer of the Exchequer.

The Right Honourable William Humble, Earl of Dudley, to be Lieutenant-General and Governor-General of Ireland; and

The Right Honourable Joseph Austen Chamberlain to be His Majesty's Postmaster-General.

WHITEHALL, August 14, 1902.

The King has been pleased, by Letters Patent under the Great Seal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, to grant the dignity of a Knight of the said United Kingdom unto each of the undermentioned Gentlemen:—

Edward Albert Stone, Esq., Chief Justice of the State of Western Australia.

The Honourable Arthur Rutledge, K.C., Attorney-General of the State of Queensland.

The Honourable Henry Norman MacLaurin, LL.D., M.D., M.A., Chancellor of the University of Sydney, and Member of the Legislative Council of the State of New South Wales.

Henri Elzéar Tascherean, Esq., K.C., LL.D., Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of the Dominion of Canada.

The Honourable Adye Douglas, President of the Legislative Council of the State of Tasmania.

The Honourable John Lancelot Stirling, LL.B., President of the Legislative Council of the State of South Australia.

The Honourable Edward D'Alton Shea, President of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Newfoundland.

The Honourable Robert Boak, President of the Legislative Council of the Province of Nova Scotia, in the Dominion of Canada.

William Russell Russell, Esq., Member of the House of Representatives of the Colony of New Zealand.

John Logan Campbell, Esq., M.D., late Mayor of Auckland, in the Colony of New Zealand.