No. 2, or West Scotland District, consisting of the Counties of Argyll, Ayr, Bute, Dumbarton, Dumfries, Kirkeudbright, Renfrew, and Wigtown, and the western portion of the County of Stirling (namely, so much of the County as is not included in District No. 1), and the western portion of the County of Lanark (namely, so much of the County as is not included in District No. 1).

No. 3, or Newcastle District, consisting of the Counties of Northumberland and Cumberland, and the northern portion of the County of Durham (namely, so much of the County as lies north of a line commencing at the mouth of the River Wear, and following its course westward to the point near the Township of Painshaw where the North-Eastern Railway crosses the said river, thence following the said line of the railway north-westward to the Washington Railway Station, and thence the line of the Pontop and South Shields Railway westward to the point where the latter line strikes the boundary line of the Township of Medomsley near Leadgate, thence following the eastern boundary line of the said Township of Medomsley northward as far as the River Derwent, and thence proceeding westward along the said River Derwent to the boundary of the County of Northumberland), the detached part of the County of Lancaster north of Morecambe Bay, and the Isle of Man.

No. 4, or Durham District, consisting of the southern portion of the County of Durham (namely, so much of the County as is not included in No. 3 District), Westmorland, and the North Riding of the County of York.

No. 5, or York and Lincoln District, consisting of the East and West Ridings of the County of York, and the County of Lincoln.

No. 6, or Manchester and Ireland District, consisting of so much of the County of Lancaster as is not included in Nos. 3 and 7 Districts, and of Ireland.

No. 7, or Liverpool and North Wales District, consisting of the south-western portion of the County of Lancaster (namely, the Parishes of Hesketh - with - Becconsall, Tarleton, Croston, Eccleston, Standish, Wigan, Winwick, and Warrington, and all Parishes to the west thereof), and the Counties of Chester, Flint, Denbigh, Montgomery, Merioneth, Carnarvon, and Anglesey.

No. 8, or Midland District, consisting of the Counties of Derby, Nottingham, Leicester, Warwick, Northampton, Rutland, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Oxford, Berkshire, Buckingham, Bedford, Hertford, and Middlesex.

No. 9, or Stafford District, consisting of the Counties of Stafford, Salop, Worcester, Hereford, Norfolk, Suffolk, and Essex.

No. 10, or Cardiff District, consisting of the eastern portion of the County of Glamorgan (namely, the Parishes of Aberdare, Ystradyfodwg, Llantrisant, Coychurch Higher, Pencoed, Coychurch Lower, Llan-gan, Colwinston, Llandow, and St. Donats, and all Parishes to the east thereof), the eastern portion of the County of Brecon (namely, the Parishes of Llyswen, Llandefalle, Trawscoed, Llanfilo, Llan-y-wern, Llanhamlach, Llanfrynach, Cantref, Penderyn, and all Parishes to the east thereof), and the Counties of Radnor and Cardigan.

No. 11, or Swansea District, consisting of the western portion of the County of Glamorgan (namely, so much of the County as is not included in No. 10 District), the western portion of the County of Brecon (namely, so much of the County as is not included in No. 10 District), and the Counties of Carmarthen and Pembroke.

No. 12, or Southern District, consisting of the Counties of Monmouth, Gloucester, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Dorset, Wilts, Hants, London, Surrey, Sussex, and Kent.

The Coal Mines at Dover, in the County of Kent, shall, as a temporary arrangement, be attached to District No. 6.

I further direct, in pursuance of section 23 of the Coal Mines Regulation Act, 1887, that each of the districts named and defined shall be a district for which there shall be a Board to appoint examiners for the granting of Certificates of Competency to Managers and Under-Managers of Mines, except that for this purpose the No. 10, or Cardiff District, and the No. 11, or Swansea District, shall form one District.

This Order shall come into force on 1st November 1901. It may be referred to as the Mines Inspection Districts Order of 12th October 1901.

> CHAS. T. RITCHIE, One of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall, October 12, 1901.



CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

October 25, 1901.

The following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names:—

October 21, 1901.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Board of Education: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)
—Saul Arthur Levene.

Colonial Office: Eastern Cadets—Charles William Bresland, Alwyn Sidney Haynes, George Muir Laidlaw, William Henderson Mackray.

Customs: Assistants of Customs-James Michie.

Inland Revenue: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)— Thomas Lloyd Roberts.

War Office: Clerks of the Higher Division—Herbert James Creedy, Charles Meredith Wynne.

Post Office: Male Learner, Liverpool—James Patrick Traynor.

After Open Competition and under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 4th June 1870.

Second Division: Clerk-Hugh Aloysius Hegarty.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Skilled Telegraphist, London—Albert Preston.