1216

THE EDINBURGH GAZETTE, OCTOBER 29, 1901.

Mr. Henry Willard Denison, Legal Adviser to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at Tokio.

Netherlands.

- Monsieur T. M. C. Asser, Doctor of Law, Member of the Council of State, formerly Professor at the University of Amsterdam.
- Monsieur F. B. Coninck Liefsting, Doctor of Law, President of the Court of Cassation.
- Jonkheer A. F. de Savornin Lohman, Doctor of Law, formerly Minister of the Interior and Professor at the Free University of Amsterdam, Member of the Second Chamber of the States General.
- Jonkheer G. L. M. H. Ruys de Beerenbrouck, Doctor of Law, formerly Minister of Justice, Queen's Commissioner in the Province of Limburg.

Portugal.

- Count de Macedo, Peer of the Kingdom, formerly-Minister of Marine and the Colonies, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary at Madrid.
- Monsieur Antonio Emilio Correia de sá Brandao, President of the High Court of Justice, Councillor of State, Peer of the Kingdom and | formerly Minister of Justice.
- Monsieur Agostínho d'Ornellas Vasconcellos Esmeraldo Rolim de Moura, Peer of the Kingdom, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Pleuipotentiary for Portugal at St. Petersburg.
- Monsieur Luiz Frederico de Bivar Gomes da Costa, Peer of the Kingdom, Judge Councillor to the High Court of Justice.

Roumania.

- Monsieur Theodore Rosetti, Senator, formerly President of the Council of Ministers and President of the High Court of Cassation and Justice.
- Monsieur Jean Kalindero, Administrator of the Crown Lands, formerly Councillor to the High Court of Cassation and Justice.
- Monsieur Eugene Statesco, President of the Senate, formerly Minister of Justice and Foreign Affairs.
- Monsienr Jean N. Lahovari, formerly Deputy and Euvoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary, and formerly Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Russia.

- Monsieur N. V. Mouravieff, Minister of Justice, Privy Councillor, one of His Majesty the Emperor's Secretaries of State.
- Monsieur C. P. Pobiedonostzeff, Procurator-General of the Most Holy Synod, Actual Privy Councillor, one of His Majesty the Emperor's Secretaries of State.
- Monsieur E. V. Frisch, President of the Department of Legislation of the Council of the Empire, Actual Privy Councillor, one of His Majesty the Emperor's Secretaries of State.
- Monsieur de Martens, Privy Councillor, Permanent Member of the Council of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Servia.

- Monsieur George Pavlovitch, formerly Minister and Professor.
- Monsieur Glisha Gershitch, formerly Minister and Professor.

FOREIGN OFFICE, August 31, 1901.

The King has been gracionsly pleased to appoint John Charles Edward Douglas, Esq., to be Registrar of His Majesty's Supreme Court for China and Corea.

FOREIGN OFFICE, October 22, 1901.

The King has been pleased to approve of Signor Commendatore Lazzaro Allatini to be Consul-General of Italy in London, with jurisdiction over the South and East Coast of England, from Land's End to the River Humber (except the Port of Grimsby), the Scilly Islands, and Bermuda; Mr. George O. Cornelius to be Consul of the United States of America at St. John's, Newfoundland; Mr. A. Varatassi to be Consul of Greece at Cardiff; and Mr. John Bovey to be Consul of Venezuela at Cardiff.

DOWNING STREET, October 23, 1901.

The King has been pleased to give directions for the appointment of George Seton Seton-Browne, Esq., to be an Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Island of Grenada.

DOWNING STREET, October 24, 1901.

The King has been pleased to approve of the appointment of Pierre Edmond de Chazal, Esq., C.M.G., and Marius François Xavier Nalletamby, Esq., to be nominated Members of the Council of Government of the Colony of Mauritius.

THE COAL MINES REGULATION ACTS, 1887 AND 1896.

THE METALLIFEROUS MINES REGULATION ACTS, 1872 AND 1875.

THE QUARRIES ACT, 1894.

I HEREBY order and direct that, for the purposes of inspection under the Coal Mines Regulation Acts, 1887 and 1896, the Metalliferous Mines Regulation Acts, 1872 and 1875, and the Quarries Act, 1894, the United Kingdom shall be divided into the following districts :--

No. 1, or East Scotland District, consisting of the Counties of Aberdeen, Banff, Berwick, Caithness, Clackmannan, Edinburgh, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Haddington, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Linlithgow, Nairn, Orkney and Shetland, Peebles, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Roxburgh, Selkirk, Sutherland, and the eastern portion of the County of Stirling (namely, the Parishes of Airth, Larbert, Falkirk, and Slamannan, and all Parishes to the east thereof), and the eastern portion of the County of Lanark (namely, the Parishes of New Monkland, Shotts, Dalziel, Cambusnethan, Carluke, Lanark, Carmichael, Douglas, and Crawfordjohn, and all Parishes to the east thereof).