ing promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

- The Right Honourable Viscount Gormanston, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Tasmania.
- The Honourable Sir Walter Francis Hely-Hutchinson, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commanderin-Chief of the Colony of Natal.
- Sir Alfred Milner, K.C.B., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope and Her Majesty's High Commissioner for South Africa.
- The Honourable Wilfred Laurier, President of the Privy Council and Premier of the Dominion of Canada.
- The Honourable Sir Richard John Cartwright, K.C.M.G., Minister of Trade and Commerce for the Dominion of Canada.
- Sir William Robinson, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Hong Kong.
- Sir Henry Arthur Blake, K.C.M.G., Captain-General and Governor-in-Chief of the Island of Jamaica.
- The Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, K.C.M.G., Minister of Justice for the Dominion of Canada.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

- Sir William Lambert Dobson, Knt., Chief Justice of the Colony of Tasmania, who has on several occasions administered the Government of the Colony in the absence of the Governor.
- Sir Frederick Matthew Darley, Knt., Lieutenant-Governor of the Colony of New South Wales and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of that Colony.
- Colonel Frederic Cardew, C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Sierra Leone.
- His Honour the Honourable George Airey Kirkpatrick, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Ontario, in the Dominion of Canada.
- William Alexander Baillie Hamilton, Esq., C.B., C.M.G., Chief Clerk of the Colonial Department.
- Sandford Fleming. Esq., C.M.G., for services connected with the Dominion of Canada.
- Frederick Richard Saunders, Esq., C.M.G., Treasurer of the Island of Ceylon.
- Frank Athelstane Swettenham, Esq., C.M.G., Resident-General for the Federation of the Protected States of the Malay Peninsula.
- Clement Courtenay Knollys, Esq., C.M.G., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.
- Count Strickland della Catena, C.M.G., Chief Secretary to the Government of the Island of Malta.
- Cavendish Boyle, Esq., C.M.G., Government Secretary of the Colony of British Guiana.

- Charles Gage Brown, Esq., M.D., C.M.G., Medical Adviser to the Colonial Office.
- Walter Peace, Esq., C.M.G., Agent-General in London for the Colony of Natal.
- Godfrey Yeatman Lagden, Esq., C.M.G., Government Secretary and Accountant of Basutoland.
- The Honourable Horace Tozer, Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Queensland.
- The Honourable Lewis Henry Davies, Minister of Marine and Fisheries for the Dominion of Canada.
- The Honourable Henry Cuthbert, Solicitor-General of the Colony of Victoria.
- Edward Montague Nelson, Esq., for services in connection with the Australasian Colonies.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

His Highness Ibrahim, Sultan of the State and Territory of Johore.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

- Henry Cockburn Stewart, Esq., Administrator of the Seychelles Islands.
- Philip Arthur Templer, Esq., Administrator of the Presidency of Dominica.
- Harry Langhorne Thompson, Esq., Administrator of the Island of St. Vincent.
- The Honourable James Robert Dickson, Secretary for Railways of the Colony of Queensland.
- Colonel Richard Henry Jelf, R.E., in recognition of services as Chairman of the Sanitary Commission, Gibraltar.
- Colonel John Montgomery Templeton, commanding the Militia Infantry Brigade in the Colony of Victoria.
- Colonel Alfred Freeman, Assistant Quartermaster General in the Colony of Victoria.
- Colonel John Alexander Man, late Commandant of the Local Forces of the Colony of Trindad and Tobago.
- Captain Charles Tyrwhitt Dawkins, for services rendered as Military Secretary and as Acting Imperial Secretary to the Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Cape of Good Hope.
- Captain Arthur Henderson Young, Chief Secretary to the Government of Cyprus.
- Donald William Stewart, Esq., British Resident at Coomassie.
- Frederick Obadiah Adrian, Esq., Officer of Arms of the said Most Distinguished Order.
- Louis Honoré Fr chette, Esq., for services in connection with Literature in the Dominion of Canada.
- John Mortimer Courtney, Esq., Deputy Minister of Finance for the Dominion of Canada.
- John Lorn M'Dougall, Esq., Auditor-General for the Dominion of Canada.
- William White. Esq., Deputy Postmaster-General for the Dominion of Canada.
- Captain William Rooke Creswell (late R.N.), of the Naval Defence Force of the Colony of South Australia.