

The Belfast Gazette

Published by Authority.

Registered as a newspaper.

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 18th, 1936.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT.
ALTERATION OF BOUNDARIES OF WARDS.

COUNTY BOROUGH OF LONDONDERRY.

WHEREAS by the Londonderry Improvement Act, 1896, the County Borough of Londonderry is divided into five Wards called respectively the East Ward, the North Ward and the South Ward, the Waterside Ward and the West Ward, the boundaries of which are defined in the said Act:

And whereas, by Order dated the 18th day of June, 1925, the Ministry of Home Affairs apportioned the borough councillors and aldermen among the said Wards, and such Order made certain provisions with regard to the election of aldermen and councillors for the said Wards:

And whereas it is enacted by Section 7 of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland), 1922, as amended by the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland), 1934, that the Ministry of Home Affairs may from time to time make orders dividing a borough, urban district or town into wards and fixing the boundaries of such wards and altering the total number of borough councillors, aldermen, urban district councillors or town commissioners:

Now, therefore, the Ministry of Home Affairs for Northern Ireland, by virtue of the power vested in the Ministry by the Local Government Acts (Northern Ireland), 1898 to 1934, and of all other powers in that behalf enabling it, hereby orders and directs as follows:—

- Notwithstanding anything contained in the Londonderry Improvement Act, 1896, or in any order made by the Ministry of Home Affairs to the contrary, the County Borough of Londonderry shall be divided into three wards to be designated the North Ward, the South Ward and the Waterside Ward, and every Ward shall comprise all the houses, lands, and hereditaments within the limits of the same and the boundaries of such three Wards respectively shall be those described in the First Schedule to this Order.
- 2. There shall be elected on the 15th day of May, 1938, for each of the said three Wards into which the County Borough of Londonderry is by this Order divided the number of aldermen and councillors which is set out in the Second Schedule hereto opposite the names of each of the said Wards.
- The aldermen and councillors of the County Borough of Londonderry in office on the 15th day of May, 1938, shall retire on the 16th day of May, 1938.
- 4. Of the five aldermen and fifteen councillors to be elected on the 15th day of May, 1938, the dates of their several retirements from office shall be as follows:—
 - (a) As regards the councillors in the North Ward and the South Ward two of the six councillors elected on the fifteenth day of May, 1938, shall go out of office on the sixteenth day of May, 1939, two more shall go out of office on the