

The Belfast Gazette

of FRIDAY, the 11th of DECEMBER, 1936.

Published by Authority.

Registered as a newspaper.

SATURDAY, 12th DECEMBER, 1936.

Whitehall, December 12, 1936.

This day the Lords of the Privy Council assembled at St. James's Palace and gave orders for proclaiming His Majesty who made a most Gracious Declaration to them.

WHEREAS by an Instrument of Abdication dated the Tenth day of December instant His former Majesty King Edward the Eighth did declare His irrevocable Determination to renounce the Throne for Himself and His Descendants, and the said Instrument of Abdication has now taken effect, whereby the Imperial Crown of Great Britain, Ireland and all other His former Majesty's dominions is now solely and rightfully come to the High and Mighty Prince Albert Frederick Arthur George: We, therefore, the Lords Spiritual and Temporal of this Realm, being here assisted with these of His former Majesty's Privy Council, with Numbers of other Principal Gentlemen of Quality, with the Lord Mayor, Aldermen, and Citizens of London, do now hereby with one Voice and Consent of Tongue and Heart, publish and proclaim, That the High and Mighty Prince Albert Frederick Arthur George is now become our only lawful and rightful Liege Lord George the Sixth by the Grace of God, of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas King, Defender of the Faith, Emperor of India: To whom we do acknowledge all Faith and constant Obedience, with all hearty and humble Affection: beseeching God, by whom Kings and Queens do reign, to bless the Royal

Prince George the Sixth with long and happy Years to reign over us.

Given at St. James's Palace, this Twelfth day of December in the year of our Lord One thousand nine hundred and thirty-six.

Henry. Arthur. Cosmo Cantuar. William Ebor. Athlone. Stanley Baldwin. J. Ramsay MacDonald. E. A. FitzRoy, Speaker. Halifax. John Simon. Norfolk, E. M. Devonshire. Cromer. N. Chamberlain. Zetland. Huntly. Walter Runciman. Duff Cooper. W. Ormsby-Gore. Malcolm MacDonald. John C. C. Davidson. Vincent Massey. Wigram. Beaufort. S. M. Bruce. Austen Chamberlain. W. Nash. Anthony Eden. C. T. te Water. Swinton.