

Registered as a newspaper Published by Authority

azette

of Friday 15 June 2001 Supplement No. 1

Birthday Honours List - Northern Ireland

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W. 1

16th June 2001

The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to signify her intention of conferring the honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:





Professor George Sayers, BAIN, President and Vice Chancellor, The Queen's University of Belfast. For services to Higher Education and to the Low Pay Commission.

DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST James Galway, O.B.E. For services to music.

> CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

> > St. James's Palace, London S.W. 1

16th June 2001

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointment to the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:





(Civil Division)

C.B.
To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

David Clive Gowdy. For public service.

John McMaster Samuel Hugh Glenn THOMPSON, Director General, Northern Ireland Court Service, a Department of the Lord Chancellor.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W. 1

16th June 2001

The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:



(Civil Division) D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor Ingrid Victoria Allen (Mrs. Barnes Thompson), C.B.E., D.L. For services to Medical Research.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor Robert William Ernest Shannon. For services to Economic Development.

Samuel James Shields. For services to Health Care. Joseph Brian Smith. For public service.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Christopher Charles Kennedy Albiston. For services to the

John Garfield Bourke. For services to the Probation Service.

Miss Kate Doherty. For services to Education.

Trevor Greenwood. For services to Education.

David William Andrew Kerr. For public service. Roger Clark Lowry. For charitable services to Health Care.

Patrick Gerald Mallon. For public service.
John Joseph Anthony McCann, Deputy Collector, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

John Charles McGINNIS. For services to the Construction Industry.

Christopher Gregory Michael Mills. For services to the Textile Industry.

Robert Andrew Watson. For services to the Meat Industry.

Dermot Roger Marriott Weatherup. For services to Heritage

Preservation.

William Thompson WRIGHT. For services to Industry and to the community.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Charles Terence Armstrong. For services to the Fire Service. Robert Carson. For services to the Construction Industry. Captain John Chapman. For services to the Fishing Industry. Walter George Edward Curran, Leading Fire Fighter, Defence Fire Service, Ministry of Defence.

Joan Ann, Mrs. Dillon. For services to the Labour Relations

Agency.

Edna, Mrs. Dunbar. For services to Housing for People with Special Needs.

William McCartney Dunlop, B.E.M. For services to Cultural

Heritage.

Alfred Noel Eagleson. For public service. John Alfred Emerson. For services to the Police.

William John McCullough Fryer. For services to Local Government.

John Gartland. For services to Housing.

Maureen, Mrs. Groves. For services to Higher Education. Edith, Mrs. Hadden. For services to the British Red Cross

Society.

Jennifer, Mrs. Holmes. For services to Health Care.

Beulah Elizabeth, Mrs. IRWIN-HOUSTON, Revenue Assistant, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Annie Mary Beatrice, Mrs. Jamison. For charitable services to Hearing Dogs for Deaf People.

Patrick JORDAN. For services to Young People.

Jean, Mrs. Kelly. For services to Community Relations.

Gladys Hariett, Mrs. Latimer. For public service.

Selina Yuet Kwan, Mrs. Lee. For services to the Chinese Community.

Helen, Mrs. Lewis, Choreographer and Teacher. For services to Contemporary Dance.

Brian Lynn Maguire. For services to the Police.

Muriel, Mrs. Mathers. For services to SENSE, The National Deafblind and Rubella Association.

Elizabeth Marion, Mrs. May. For services to the Trade Union Movement.

Alan Connely McAleese. For public service.

Miss Elizabeth McAughtry. For charitable services.

Harry McCammon. For services to Young People.
Nan, Mrs. McCook, Foster Parent. For services to Fostering.
Norman McCorkell. For services to Prisoner Welfare.
William Charles McFarland. For services to Young People.
Margaret, Mrs. McGimpsey, Foster Parent. For services to Fostering.

Robert Murray. For services to the St. John Ambulance Brigade. Conor O'CLEARY. For services to Public Transport.
John Alexander Rankin. For services to Local Government.
Frances Louie, Mrs. Reid. For services to Tourism.
Robert Rodgers. For services to Game Angling.
Frid Marion Lee, Mrs. Rogan, For services to the Community.

Enid Marion Lee, Mrs. ROGAN. For services to the Community. Michael ROLESTON. For services to Health and Safety in the Shiphuilding Industry.

Shipbuilding Industry.
George King Thompson. For services to Housing.
Patrick John Timoney, Q.P.M. For services to the Police.
James Johnston Todd. For services to Veteran Athletics.
Ronnie George Trouton. For services to Road Safety.
Patricia, Mrs. Vizard. For services to Museums.
John Glendinning Weir. For services to Business.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W. 1

16th June 2001

The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to approve the award of The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service to the undermentioned:





Q.P.M.

NORTHERN IRELAND

John Stewart Emery, Sergeant, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Ivan Geddes Magee, Chief Superintendent, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Neville McCourrey, Detective Superintendent, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Published and printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office being the Government Printer for Northern Ireland and the Officer appointed to print the Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

75p

Annual Subscription (including Supplements) £68.00 ISSN 0951-0370

