And Whereas in pursuance of the provisions of Section 7 of the Act, the Ministry, by Order under Seal, did, on the 6th day of November, 1922, direct that the members of the council of the said county borough of Londonderry should be elected for the said five Wards, and by the said Order apportioned the borough councillors and aldermen among the said Wards.

And Whereas the Ministry has consulted with the council of the said county borough of Londonderry and considered any representations made by the said council:

And Whereas the Ministry does not deem it necessary to hold any local Inquiry into the matters aforesaid:

Now, Therefore, the Ministry in exercise of the powers vested in it by the Act and of all other powers in this behalf enabling the Ministry hereby orders and directs that, notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in the the Order of the 6th day of November, 1922, for the purpose of the election of aldermen and councillors for the county borough of Londonderry, to be held on the 15th day of January, 1926, and of all subsequent elections the following provisions shall be observed and have effect:—

- 1. The former enactments, subject to the provisions hereinafter appearing with respect to the election and retirement in rotation of borough councillors and aldermen, shall apply to the county borough of Londonderry in lieu of the provisions relating to triennial elections which are contained in the Local Government (Ireland) Act, 1919.
- 2. The aldermen and councillors of the county borough of Londonderry in office on the 15th day of January, 1926, shall retire on the 16th day of January, 1926.
- 3. On the 15th day of January, 1926, there shall be elected two aldermen and six councillors for each of the said five wards into which the county borough of London-derry was divided by the Act of 1896.
- 4. (a) In each ward one of the two aldermen elected on the 15th day of January, 1926, shall go out of office on the 16th day of January, 1929, and the remaining one on the 16th day of January, 1932, and the alderman who is to retire in the first instance in each of the five wards shall be the alderman who was elected in that ward by the smallest number of votes at the first election the majority of the whole council, always determining when the votes for any such aldermen shall have been equal or when there shall have been no contest, who shall be the aldermen to go out of office; provided always that any alderman on going out of office may be forthwith reelected if duly qualified.
  - (b) In each ward two of the six councillors elected on the 15th day of January, 1926, shall go out of office on the 16th day of January, 1927, two more shall go out of office on the 16th day of January, 1928, and the remaining two shall go out of office on the 16th day of January, 1929; and the order of retirement of such councillors individually shall be determined by the number of votes received by them respectively at their election in the year 1926, the two councillors having the lowest

number of votes retiring in the year 1927, the two councillors having the next lowest number of votes retiring in the year 1928, and the two councillors having the highest number of votes remaining in office till the year 1929, the majority of the whole council always determining when the votes for any such councillors shall have been equal or when there shall have been no contest, who shall be the councillors to go out of office; provided always that any councillor so going out of office shall be capable of being forthwith re-elected if duly qualified.

5. The vacancy caused by the going out of office of any alderman or councillor of a ward in manner as aforesaid shall be filled by the election of an alderman or councillor who shall not remain in office more than six years or three years, respectively, without being re-elected.

Given under the Seal of the Ministry [SEAL.] of Home Affairs for Northern Ireland this 18th day of June, 1925.

(Signed) GEO. A. HARRIS, Assistant Secretary.

## COLERAINE URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL.

Notice of Application for a Special Order under Section 26 of the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1919.

THE Urban District Council of Coleraine, whose address is Town Hall, Coleraine (hereinafter called the Undertakers), hereby give Notice that they intend making application to the Electricity Commissioners for Northern Ireland for a Special Order for the following purposes:—

1. To authorise the Undertakers to generate, supply, distribute, and sell Electricity for all public and private purposes, as defined by the Electricity (Supply) Acts, 1882 to 1919, within the Urban District of Coleraine and the Townlands of Mountsandel, Knockantern, Mill-Loughan, Fish Loughan, Loughan Rea North, Loughan Rea South, Lodge, Wattstown, Windy Hall, Tullans, Ballynag Lower, Bally-velton Lower, Ballyvelton Upper, Bellasis, Ballyclaber, Islandeffrick North, Islandeffrick South, Kirkistown, Articrunnaght North, Articrunnaght South, Islandheaghey, Cross Glebe, Harpur's Hill, Ballyartan, Boghill, Blagh, Gateside, Part of Loguestown, Dane's Hill, Spittle Hill, Bellemont More, Bellemont South, Bellemont North, Dundooan, Islandvardin, South Ballyleese, Kiltinney Beg, Kiltinney More, Ballygallin, Drumslade, Carnalbanagh, Carnanee, Garborgle, Magheraclay, Dooey Beg, Ballysally, Loughan Hill, West Quarter of Ballyleese, Castleroe, Kilmaconnell, Ballyness, Tamnamoney, Somerset, Bushtown, Macleary, Macoscopin Clams, Macoscopin Clabo, Dundorg Macosquin Camus, Macosquin Glebe, Dunderg, Farranseer, Farranlester (E.D. of Somerset), Lismurphy, Churchland, Ballinteer North, Lismurphy, Churchland, Ballinteer North, Ballinteer South, Ballyvennox, Ringrash Beg, Ringrash More, Upper Quilley, Drumaquill, e, Ballycairn, Kilcranny, Mullanhead, Masteragwee, Waterside, Castletoodry, Quilley, Bellany, Farranlester (E.D. of Bannbrook), Bannbrook Lower, Bannbrook Upper, Learden, in the the Rural District of District of Coleraine, all in the County of Londonderry, hereinafter referred to as the Area of Supply.