

The Belfast Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a newspaper

FRIDAY, 14th JUNE. 1957.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, S.W.1. 13th June, 1957.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to signify her intention of conferring the Honour of Knighthood upon the following:—

Alderman Robert John Rolston HARCOURT, Esq., J.P., lately Lord Mayor of Belfast. For public services.

Samuel Thompson IRWIN, Esq., C.B.E., M.Ch., F.R.C.S., M.P. For political and public services in Belfast.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St James's Palace, S.W.1. 13th June, 1957.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:-

To be an Ordinary Dame Grand Cross of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

The Right Honourable Dame Dehra Kerr PARKER, D.B.E., M.P., Member of Northern Ireland Parliament, 1921-1929 and since 1933. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, 1937-1944; Minister of Health and Local Government, 1937-1944; For political and public services in 1949-1957. Northern Ireland.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

John Victor Stratton MILLS, Esq., Resident Magistrate, Belfast. Lately representative of the Ministry of Home Affairs, Northern Ireland, at the United Nations World Congress on the prevention of crime.

James WALKER, Esq., Chairman, Electricity Board for Northern Ireland.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Richard Acheson, Esq. For political services in

County Tyrone.
Frederick James Cochrane, Esq., J.P., President,

Irish Football Association.

The Reverend Canon Louis Warden CROOKS,
Parliamentary Chaplain, Parliament of Northern Ireland.

William Burton DOAK, Esq., Chief Inspector of Schools, Ministry of Education, Northern Ireland.
Strother Smith Hopkins, Esq., County Inspector,
Royal Ulster Constabulary.
James McClenaghan, Esq., Chairman, Larne Harbour, Ltd., County Antrim.
Edward Shanks For Principal Officer Ministry of

Edward Shanks, Esq., Principal Officer, Ministry of Finance, Northern Ireland.

Ernest Victor Walshe, Esq., Town Planning Officer, Belfast Corporation.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Robert Evan Burns, Esq. For political services in County Londonderry.

Albert Ferguson, Esq., Assistant Engineer, Belfast Corporation Transport Department.

David HANNA, Esq., Principal, Enniskillen Technical Education Area, County Fermanagh.

James Charles McLaughlin, Esq., lately Deputy Principal Officer, Ministry of Commerce, Northern Ireland.

Alexander McNeilly, Esq., Clerk, North Down Rural District Council.

William Meharg, Esq., District Inspector, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Constance Mary, Mrs. Mercer, lately Organising Secretary, Federation of Women's Institutes of Northern Ireland (Belfast).

Stewart Hunter O'FEE, Esq., Senior Auditor, chequer and Audit Department, Northern Ireland. Captain Charles Nelson Meredith ROUNTREE, Honorary Secretary, County Tyrone Savings Committee.

Martha Atkinson, Mrs. STEVENSON, J.P., Chairman, South Tyrone Hospital Management Committee.