- Dr. Timothy Lachlan Chambers, J.P., Consultant Physician and Nephrologist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children. For services to Medicine.
- Lucy Bertha, Lady Chandler. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- Martin Cheeseman, Director of Housing and Community Care, London Borough of Brent. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Nasso Christou, Head of Archway Children's Centre, London Borough of Islington. For services to Children and Families.
- Ms Ailsa Claire, Chief Executive, Barnsley Primary Care Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Dr. Thomas Antony Coffey, General Medical Practitioner, South West London. For services to Healthcare.
- Felicity Elaine, Mrs. Collier. For services to Children and Families.
- Richard Collins, lately Executive Director for Policy, Legal Services Commission. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Ms Marilyn Comrie, Managing Director, LeaderGen. For services to Women's Enterprise.
- Ms Carol Lesley Coombes. For services to Leadership and to the Voluntary Sector in Birmingham.
- Philip COPPARD, Chief Executive, Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council. For services to Local Government.
- Alison Mary Egerton, Mrs. Corbett. For voluntary service to the Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association in Gwynedd.
- John Barrie William Corless, Chairman and Trustee, PHAB. For voluntary service to Disabled People.
- Ms Anita CORMAC, Executive Director, Focus on Food Campaign and Co-director, Design Dimension Educational Trust. For services to Special Education.
- Professor Frances Marie Corner, Head, London College of Fashion. For services to the Fashion Industry.
- Professor David Cox, Chairman, South Birmingham Primary Care Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Gary Crosby, Artistic Director, Tomorrow's Warriors. For services to Music.
- Mary Gray, Mrs. CUTHBERT, Head, Tobacco Control, Sexual Health and HIV, Health Directorate, Scottish Executive. For public and voluntary service.
- Thomas Emment Meredydd DAVID, Principal, Reaseheath College, Cheshire. For services to local and national Further Education.
- Elaine, Mrs. Debono, Head of Rural Payments, Welsh Assembly Government.
- Ms Mary Dhonau, Chief Executive, National Flood Forum. For services to the Environment.
- The Honourable Peter Malcolm de Brissac Dickinson, Author and Poet. For services to Literature.
- Dr. Annette Doherty, Senior Vice-President, Pfizer Global Research and Development, Sandwich Laboratories UK. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry.
- Helen, Mrs. Donoghue. For services to Charity Taxation. Ms Katharine Emma Dore, Co-founder, TreeHouse School, Muswell Hill, London. For services to Special Needs Education.
- Carol, Mrs. Dover, lately Headteacher, Lees Brook Community Sports College, and Da Vinci Community College, Derby. For services to Education.

- Ms Janet Dunn, Headteacher, I CAN Meath Non-Maintained Special School, Ottershaw, Surrey. For services to Special Needs Education.
- Joseph Dunne. For services to Victim Support in Northern Ireland.
- Anthony John Durcan, President, Society of Chief Librarians and Head, Culture, Libraries and Lifelong Learning, Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council. For services to Local Libraries.
- Peter Ronald DYMOND, Project Manager and lately Chief Coastguard, Maritime and Coastguard Agency, Department for Transport.
- Timothy East, Deputy Director (Operations), Information Management Services, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Eurwen Holland, Mrs. EDWARDS, B.E.M. For voluntary service to the community in North Wales.
- Suzy Maria, Mrs. Brain England, Chair, Standards Committee, Department for Work and Pensions. For public service.
- Dr. Margaret Lindsay FAULL, Director, National Coal Mining Museum for England. For services to Industrial Heritage.
- Nelson Fernandez, lately Deputy Director, Visiting Arts. For services to the Arts.
- James Ferris, lately Chief Executive, Percy Hedley Foundation, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. For services to local and national Special Needs Education.
- Ms Rokhsana FIAZ, Director, Change Institute. For services to Black and Minority Ethnic People.
- John Allan FINDLAY, Chief Executive, National Association of Local Councils. For services to Local Government.
- John Fletcher. For services to the Inland Waterways.
- Paul Foweather, Senior Manager A, H.M. Prison Hull, Ministry of Justice. For public and voluntary service. Tim Foy. For public service.
- Dr. Derek John FRy. For public service.
- Keith FRYER, lately Head of Centre, Harperley Hall, National Policing Improvement Agency. For services to Forensic Science.
- Patricia, Mrs. Gamble, Court Manager, Nottingham Crown Court, Ministry of Justice.
- Michael Gelling, Chairman, Tenants' and Residents' Organisations of England. For services to Social Housing.
- Annette, Mrs. Gibbons. For services to the Food and Farming Industries in Cumbria.
- Judith Kyle, Mrs. GILLESPIE. For public service.
- Professor Helen GLESON, Head of School for Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester. For services to Science.
- Lois Patricia, Mrs. GOLDING (Peaches Golding). For services to Black and Minority Ethnic People in the South West.
- Professor Mitchell Peter Grant, Regius Professor of Engineering and Electronics, University of Edinburgh. For services to Science.
- Richard Grant. For services to the Energy Industry.
- Malcolm David Graves, Press Secretary, Communications, H.M. Treasury. For public and voluntary service.
- John Bullard Gray, Chairman, Coatbridge College Board of Management. For services to Further and Higher Education.