- Derek Anthony Ludlow, M.B.E., D.L., Chairman, Ludlow Group of Companies. For services to Business and to the community in Bedfordshire.
- Juliet, Mrs. Lyon, Director, Prison Reform Trust. For services to the Welfare of Prisoners.
- John MacQuarrie, lately Deputy Ombudsman, Office of the Assembly Ombudsman, Northern Ireland. For public and voluntary service.
- Clive Andrew MAXWELL. For public service.
- Daniel Francis McAllister, Area Manager, East Midlands Region, H.M. Prison Service, Ministry of Justice.
- Richard John McCarthy, Director-General of Housing and Planning, Department for Communities and Local Government.
- Colin William McKerracher, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Grampian Police. For services to the Police.
- Francis McLoughlin, Principal, City and Islington College, London. For services to Further Education.
- David George Moorhouse, Chairman, Lloyds Register. For services to the Maritime Industry.
- Terence Keith Morgan, Chief Executive, Tube Lines. For services to Public Transport.
- Leslie Porter Murray, Chairman, Tidy Northern Ireland and lately Chairman, ARENA Network. For services to the Environment.
- Ms Gillian Mary Newton, Chief Executive, Fire Service College, Department for Communities and Local Government.
- Michael William Norgrove, Director of Excise, Stamps and Money Business, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Michael David Parker, lately Chief Executive Officer, British Nuclear Fuels plc. For services to the Energy Industry.
- Stephen Parker. For public service.
- Councillor David Parsons, Leader, Leicestershire County Council and Chairman, East Midlands Regional Assembly. For services to Local and Regional Government and to the Voluntary Sector.
- Nicholas Campbell Paul, Chairman, Advantage West Midlands. For services to Business.
- David Lee Pearson, O.B.E. For services to Equestrianism and to Disabled Sport.
- Courtney PINE, O.B.E. For services to Jazz Music.
- Robert Anthony Plant, Singer and Songwriter. For services to Music.
- Paul John Potts, Executive Chairman, Press Association. For services to Journalism.
- John David Priest, Deputy Strategic Sourcing Director, Corporate IT, Department for Work and Pensions. For public and voluntary service.
- David PRINCE, lately Chief Executive, Standards Board for England. For services to Local Government.
- Emeritus Professor Martin Charles RAFF, F.R.S. For services to Life Sciences.
- Professor Anne-Marie RAFFERTY, Dean, Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery. For services to Healthcare.
- David Evan Roberts, M.B.E., Swimmer. For services to Disabled Sport.
- Dr. Sue ROBERTS, lately National Clinical Director for Diabetes. For services to Healthcare.
- Professor Thomas Michael ROBERTS, lately Chief Executive, Central Science Laboratory, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

- Dr. Michael Gerald Galton Schluter. For charitable services through the Relationships Foundation and the Jubilee Centre in Cambridge.
- Finlay McMillan Scott, Chief Executive, General Medical Council. For public service.
- Ms Deborah Frances SHACKLETON, Group Chief Executive, Riverside Housing Group. For services to the Housing Sector.
- Professor Isobel Nicol Sharp, lately President, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and Partner, Deloitte. For services to the Accountancy Profession.
- Charles James Francis SINCLAIR, lately Chief Executive, Daily Mail and General Trust. For services to the Newspaper Industry.
- Dr. Indarjit SINGH, O.B.E., Director, Network of Sikh Organisations (UK). For services to Inter-Faith and Community Relations.
- Andrew Michael SLADE. For public service.
- Dr. Ian McKenzie Smith, O.B.E. For services to the Arts in Scotland.
- Ms Priscilla Snowball, Chair and Chief Executive, Abbott Mead Vickers Group. For services to the Advertising Industry.
- David Whitlock TANNER, O.B.E., Performance Director, GB Rowing Team. For services to Sport.
- Professor Alexander Allan Templeton, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Aberdeen. For services to Medicine.
- Jeremy Jack THOMAS, Producer. For services to the Film Industry.
- Rosemary, Mrs. THORP. For services to Education and to International Development.
- Robert UPTON, Secretary-General, Royal Town Planning Institute. For public service.
- Marina Alandra, Lady VAIZEY. For services to the Arts. John Esmond George VAUX, lately Speaker's Counsel, House of Commons.
- Professor Anthony James Venables, lately Chief Economist, Department for International Development.
- Anthony Watson, Chairman, Strategic Investment Board Limited. For services to Economic Development in Northern Ireland.
- Professor Peter Neil Temple Wells, Research Professor and Senior Scientific Director, Institute of Medical Engineering and Medical Physics, University of Cardiff. For services to Healthcare Science.
- Bradley Marc Wiggins, O.B.E., Cyclist. For services to Sport.
- Professor Paul WILKINSON. For public service.
- Professor David Charles Woods, Principal Adviser, City Challenge. For services to Education.
- James Samuel Younger, lately Chairman, Electoral Commission. For public service.

O.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Professor Thomas Alan Acton, Professor of Romani Studies, University of Greenwich. For services to Education.
- Miss Rebecca Adlington, Swimmer. For services to Sport.
- Jonathan Patrick Adair Adnams, Executive Chairman, Adnams plc. For services to Corporate Social Responsibility.