- Miss Shirley Ann ROBERTSON, M.B.E. For services to Sailing.
- Kevin Peter James ROGERS, Director, H.M. Prison Dovegate, Uttoxeter, Staffordshire. For services to the Contracted-Out Prison Service.
- Sarindar Singh SAHOTA, Chair, SRB 6 North West Corridors of Regeneration. For services to the community in Handsworth, Birmingham.
- Anthony Paul SANGWINE, Specialist Adviser, Horticulture and Nature Conservation, Highways Agency.
- Christopher Andrew SAUNDERS. For services to Save the Children UK.
- Neil SCALES, Chief Executive and Director General, Merseyside Passenger Transport Authority and Executive. For services to Public Transport.
- Robert Leslie Scort, lately Acting Director, Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester. For services to Museums.
- Robert William Lowry Scott, D.L., lately Chair, Forestry and Timber Association. For services to Forestry.
- Stephen Francis SEABER, Chief Fire Officer, Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the Fire Rescue Service.
- Rodney Horrocks SELLERS. For services to Business in the North West.
- Miss Alexandra SHULMAN, Editor, British Vogue. For services to the Magazine Industry.
- Pamela Minerva Odette, Mrs. SINGH, lately Headteacher, Pope John Roman Catholic Primary School, Shepherds Bush, London. For services to Education.
- Guy SIZELAND, Grade B2, Ministry of Defence.
- David Ronald SMITH, Regional Home Office Director, Government Office for the North West.
- Philip John SNELL, Grade 7, Special Educational Needs Policy Framework and Transition Team, Department for Education and Skills.
- Ms Mary Arlene Anne Spiers, Chief Executive, Ulster Cancer Foundation. For services to Healthcare.
- Bernard Geoffrey SPITTLE. For services to Sports Administration.
- Christopher Austin STENDALL, Grade 7, Regeneration Sponsorship Division, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.
- David William Edmund STERRY, Chief Executive, May Gurney Integrated Services plc. For services to Civil Engineering.
- Angela Patricia, Mrs. STONES, Headteacher, McMillan Nursery School, Kingston-upon-Hull. For services to Early Years Education.
- Peter STOPPARD. For services to the community in the South West.
- Kenneth Graham Stott. For services to the Willow Industry in the South West.
- John Richard Thomas SULLIVAN, Writer. For services to Drama.
- Stacey, Mrs. TASKER, lately Governor, H.M.Prison Leeds.
- Anthony Bichard TAYLOR, Chair, Borders NHS Board. For services to the NHS and to Business in Scotland.
- Peter TEBBIT, National Palliative Care Development Adviser, National Council for Palliative Care. For services to Healthcare.
- Leslie THOMAS, Writer. For services to Literature.

- Councillor William Humphrey THOMAS, lately Chair, Sandwell Mental Health NHS and Social Care Trust. For services to the NHS in the West Midlands.
- Ling, Mrs. THOMPSON, Head of International Affairs, Royal Society. For services to Science.
- Alan Sidney TOBIAS, Chair, Essex Probation Board. For services to the National Probation Service and to Community Relations.
- Roger TOWNSEND, Deputy Field Director, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.
- John Colin TURNER, Chair, Advisory Committee on Packaging. For services to Waste Management.
- Mark VAUGHAN, Founder and Co-Director, Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education. For services to Inclusion in Education.
- Professor Susan Mary VINNICOMBE, Professor of Organisational Behaviour and Diversity Management, Cranfield School of Management. For services to Diversity.
- Sadru VISRAM, Chair, ASRA Greater London Housing Association. For services to Social Housing.
- George VONGAS, Grade B2, Defence Science Technology Laboratory, Ministry of Defence.
- Ms Marjorie Henderson WALKER, Joint Managing Director, Walkers Shortbread Ltd. For services to Business and Exports.
- Michael WALKER, lately Vice-Chair, NHS Lothian and Consul for Finland. For services to the NHS and to the community in Edinburgh.
- Graham WARD, Chair, National Farmers' Union Horticulture Board. For services to Horticulture.
- Ms Caroline Anne WARNE (Mrs. Thomas), J.P., Chair, International Standards Organisation's Committee on Consumer Policy. For services to Consumers.
- Dr. Peter Alan WATERMAN, Producer and Composer. For services to Music.
- Michael Reginald WHITE, Emeritus Fellow, Policy Studies Institute, University of Westminster. For services to Labour Market Policy.
- Professor David Keith WHITTAKER, Professor of Forensic Dentistry, University of Wales College of Medicine. For services to Forensic Dentistry.
- Dr. Stephen Thomas WHITTLE. For services to Gender Issues.
- Bradley Marc WIGGINS, Cyclist. For services to Sport.
- Tom WILKINSON, Actor. For services to Drama.
- John WILLIAMS, Q.F.S.M., Firemaster, Grampian Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the Fire Service.
- John Goodall WILSON, lately Headteacher, College House Junior School. For services to Education and to the community in Nottingham.
- Dr. Winston Reginald WITHEY, Technical Director, Centre for Human Sciences, QinetiQ. For services to the Armed Forces.
- Mark WORTHINGTON, Private Secretary to Lady Thatcher.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor Michael George ABRAMSON, Head, Combined Honours Unit, University of Central Lancashire. For services to Higher Education.