Peter James Joseph Winship, C.B.E., Q.P.M., Her Majesty's Inspector of Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Dr. Gregory Winter, C.B.E, F.R.S., Joint Head, Division of Protein and Nucleic Acid Chemistry, Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology. For services to Molecular Biology.

DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST

Judge Richard George May, lately Judge at the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London SW1

12 June 2004

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

Order of the Bath



(Military Division)

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL NAVY)

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Vice Admiral James Michael Burnell-Nugent, C.B.E., A.D.C.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Rear Admiral Rory Alistair Ian McLean, O.B.E. Major General David Wilson, C.B.E.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ARMY)

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Francis Richard DANNATT, C.B.E., M.C., (491436) late The Green Howards.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL AIR FORCE)

C.B

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companion, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Vice-Marshal David Anthony HOBART, Royal Air Force.

Order of the Bath



(Civil Division)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Sir David Bruce OMAND, K.C.B., Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office.

K.C.B

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Edwin Geoffrey BOWMAN, C.B., First Parliamentary Counsel.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Miss Priscilla Jean Baines, Head, Library Department, House of Commons.

John Anthony Catlin, Director of Legal Services, Department for Work and Pensions.

Ms Alexis Jane CLEVELAND, Chief Executive, The Pension Service.

David John Gould, Deputy Chief Executive, Defence Procurement Agency.

Dr. Ruth Hall, Chief Medical Officer for Wales.

Christopher George Maccabe, Senior Civil Servant, Northern Ireland Office.

Stephen John Pickford, Director, International Finance, HM Treasury.

Robert Lee Smith, Director General, Regional Development Group, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.

Jonathan Edward Simon Tross, Chief Executive, Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service, Department for Education and Skills.

Ms Eithne Victoria Wallis, lately Director General, National Probation Service for England and Wales.

John Roger Weiss, Group Director, Business Group, Export Credits Guarantee Department.

Philip Martin Wheatley, Director General, HM Prison Service.