- Squadron Leader Alastair Campbell PINNER (5204265U), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Susan Gillian ROBERTS, A.E. (0009228X), Royal Auxiliary Air Force.
- Squadron Leader John Terence SANDERS (8025874L), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Colin Paul SEWELL (C8068327), Royal Air Force.
- Corporal Julian Paul SPALDING (D8415659), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Girvan Kemp STEWART (8108053B), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Robert John STEWART (0608802U), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Rene Michael STUART (Q1950264), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Peter John TOPHAM (J8129782), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Humphrey John Charles VINCENT (8024087T), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Roland Henry WRIGHT, B.E.M. (R8078387), Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire



(Civil Division)

D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Professor Jenifer WILSON-BARNETT Professor of Nursing and Head of the Nightingale School of Nursing.
- Pauline, Mrs. GREEN, Chief Executive and General Secretary of the Co-operative Union Limited. For services to the Co-operative Movement and to the development of the European Union.
- Professor Louise Napier JOHNSON, F.R.S., David Phillips Professor of Molecular Biophysics, University of Oxford. For services to Biophysical Science.
- Miss Elizabeth NEVILLE, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Wiltshire Constabulary. For services to the Police.
- Rita, Mrs. WELLER, Headteacher, Avonmore Primary School, Hammersmith and Fulham, London. For services to Education.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Peter ACKROYD, Writer. For services to Literature.

- Charles Lamb ALLEN, Chairman M2002 Ltd. For services to the XVII Commonwealth Games.
- Geoff ALLTIMES, Director, Social Services, Hammersmith. For services to Social Care.
- Derrick Bancroft ANDERSON, Chief Executive, Wolverhampton City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Nicholas Hugo BARING. For charitable services, especially to Heritage.
- Peter Hugh BLACKBURN, President, Food and Drink Federation. For services to the Food and Drink Industry.
- Oliver BRANNIGAN. For public service.

- Robin Shedden BROADHURST, European Chairman of Jones Lang LaSalle. For services to the Property Advisory Group.
- Paul Campbell BROWN, Chief Executive, Commercial Radio Companies Association. For services to Radio Broadcasting.
- Ms Julia Ann BURDUS. For services to Commerce.
- Hugh Carl BURNARD, Head, Regional Business Services South, H.M. Customs and Excise.
- Ms Margaret BURNS, Commissioner, Health and Safety Commission.
- Professor Michael CLARKE, lately Professor of Epidemiology, University of Leicester. For services to Public Health Medicine.
- Peter COATES, Head, Private Finance and Investment, Department of Health.
- Professor Enrico Sandro COEN, F.R.S., Professor of Plant Genetics, John Innes Centre. For services to Plant Genetics.
- Jonathan COPE, Dancer. For services to Ballet.
- David John COURT, lately Chief Executive, Office of Government Commerce Buying Solutions.
- Brian Denis Cox, Actor and Director. For services to Drama.
- Alan Thomas CRANE. For services to the Movement for Innovation in the Construction Industry.
- Colin DAVENPORT, Senior Civil Servant, Ministry of Defence.
- Peter Thomas DAVIES, Chief Executive Officer, Pera. For services to Business Innovation.
- Thomas Gerald Reames DAVIES, Chairman, Wales Youth Agency. For services to Young People and to Rugby in Wales.
- Andrew Christopher King DAY, Q.C., lately Deputy Bailiff of Guernsey. For services to the Crown in Guernsey.
- Gloria, Mrs. HEDLEY-DENT, Divisional Manager, Planning Legal Group, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.
- David Robbie DICKSON, lately Head, Animal Health and Welfare Division, Scottish Executive.
- Frances DONE, Chief Executive, Manchester 2002. For services to the XVII Commonwealth Games.
- Professor Laurence EAVES, F.R.S., Lancashire-Spencer Professor of Physics, University of Nottingham. For services to Solid State Physics.
- Clive Bruce FAIRWEATHER, O.B.E., lately H.M. Chief Inspector of Prisons for Scotland.
- Michael David Kenneth Willoughby Foot, Managing Director, Financial Services Authority. For services to Financial Regulation.
- James Alexander FORBES, lately Chief Executive, Scottish and Southern Energy. For services to the Electricity Industry.
- Miss Rita Ann Moden GARDNER, Director, Royal Geographical Society. For services to Geography.
- John William GIFFARD, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Staffordshire Police. For services to the Police.
- Miss Jane Alison GLOVER, Conductor. For services to Music.
- Stephen Martin John GOODE, Chief Probation Officer, Derbyshire. For services to the Probation Service.
- Malcolm GRANT, lately Chairman, Local Government Commission for England. For services to Planning Law and Local Government.