David Wilmot, Q.P.M., D.L., Chief Constable, Greater Manchester Police. For services to the Police.

Nicholas Raymond WINTERTON, M.P., Member of Parliament for Macclesfield. For services to Parliament.

Ronald Wayne DE WITT, Chief Executive, North West London Strategic Health Authority. For services to the NHS.

Anthony Ian Young, lately Senior Deputy General Secretary, Communication Workers' Union; President, TUC; Governor, BBC. For services to Employment Relations.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1

15th June 2002

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

Order of the Bath



(Military Division)

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL NAVY)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Admiral Sir Nigel Richard Essenhigh, K.C.B., A.D.C.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Vice Admiral Peter Arthur Dunt. Major General Anthony Arthur Milton, O.B.E.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ARMY)

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Alistair Stuart Hastings IRWIN, C.B.E. (490103), late The Black Watch.

C R

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Robert Clark Menzies, O.B.E., Q.H.S. (476739), late Royal Army Medical Corps. Major General Robin Vincent SEARBY (486738), late 9th/12th Royal Lancers.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL AIR FORCE)

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Marshal Clifford Rodney Spink, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Nigel John Sudborough, O.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Order of the Bath



(Civil Division)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Sir (Gerald) Hayden Phillips, K.C.B., Permanent Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department and Clerk of the Crown in Chancery.

K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Jon Deacon Shortridge, Permanent Secretary, National Assembly for Wales.

Robin Urquhart Young, Permanent Secretary Department of Trade and Industry.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Professor Mansel Aylward, Chief Medical Adviser and Medical Director, Department for Work and Pensions. Ian Brooke, Senior Civil Servant, Ministry of Defence. Hilary Kay, Mrs. Douglas, Managing Director, Corporate Services and Development, H.M. Treasury. Peter Garland, Director of Health and Social Care,

North, Department of Health.

Douglas Alexander Osler, H.M. Senior Chief Inspector of Education, Scottish Executive.

Alastair Harkness Papps, lately Associate Director, Centre for Management and Policy Studies, Cabinet Office and Operational Director, H.M. Prison Service.

Ms Alice Elizabeth Perkins (Mrs. Straw), Head, Civil Service Corporate Management and Reform, Cabinet Office

David Francis William PICKUP, Solicitor, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

Godfrey Robson, Director of Policy, Health Department, Scottish Executive.

David James WATKINS. For Public Service.