Esquire; Jonathan Hedley Gibson, Esquire; Julian Nicholas Goose, Esquire; David Myer Gordon, Esquire; Ian David Graham, Esquire; Miss Rona Mary Louise Hallam, Miss Eleanor Warwick Hamilton, Q.C.; Robert Nicholas Hill, Esquire; Jeremy Robert Hill-Baker, Esquire; Rodney Mellor Maples Jameson, Esquire; Michael Jack David Kay, Esquire; Guy Alexander Kearl, Esquire; David Kelly, Esquire; Peter John Kelson, Esquire; Mrs. Jennifer Christine Kershaw, Q.C.; Mushtaq Ahmed Khokhar, Esquire; Paul George Kirtley, Esquire; Alistair Neil MacDonald, Esquire; Q.C.; Stephen Nathan Morris, Esquire; Miss Catharine Anne Otton-Goulder, Q.C.; Patrick John Steven Palmer, Esquire; Mark Paul Phillips, Esquire, Q.C.; Peter Julian Pimm, Esquire; Christopher John Prince, Esquire; Jeremy William Richardson, Esquire, Q.C.; Graham Robinson, Esquire; Jonathan Lee Rose, Esquire; Nigel Hiralal Sangster, Esquire, Q.C.; Philip Anthony Sapsford, Esquire, Q.C.; Gordon Edward Shelton, Esquire; Martin John Simpson, Esquire; Paul Kay Sloan, Esquire; Michael Anthony Smith, Esquire; Christopher Thomas Storey, Esquire, Q.C.; Andrew Harold Wentworth Sutcliffe, Esquire; John Ashley Taylor, Esquire; Mrs. Anne Rebecca Thornton; Francis Paul Watson, Esquire; David Christopher Wilby, Esquire, Q.C.; Christopher David Curnow Williams, Esquire; and Simon Edward Wood, Esquire.

#### For appointment to the Midland and Oxford Circuit:

John Adrian James Aucott, Esquire; Jonathan Leslie Baker, Esquire; James Michael Burbidge, Esquire; John Edward Ramsey Burgess, Esquire; Michael Peter Burrows, Esquire; Miss Rosalind Hilary Bush; Martin John Cardinal, Esquire; Bruce Conrad Carr, Esquire; Graham Hilton Cliff, Esquire; Miss Yvonne Anne Coen, Q.C.; James Patrick Corbett, Esquire, Q.C.; Jeremy Vincent Cousins, Esquire, Q.C.; Murrey Laurence Creed, Esquire; Mrs. Jill Madeleine Darbyshire; Gregory David Mark Dickinson, Equire; Michael John Douglas, Esquire, Q.C.; Ms Ruth Elizabeth Downing; Simon Douglas Draycott, Esquire; Michael Robert Elsom, Esquire; Roger Kenneth Evans, Esquire; William Fielding Everard, Esquire; David Anthony Farrell, Esquire, Q.C.; Edward Peter Lawless Faulks, Esquire, Q.C.; Michael Glyn Fowler, Esquire; Nigel Graham Godsmark, Esquire; Christopher John Goodchild, Esquire; Jonathan Vincent Ronald Gosling, Esquire; David Euan Barron Grant, Esquire; Philip John Gregory, Esquire; Miss Alison Wendy Hampton; William John Hirons Harbage, Esquire; John Philip Trevelyan Head, Esquire; Douglas Churchill Herbert, Esquire; John Arthur Higham, Esquire, Q.C.; Michael Joseph Keehan, Esquire; Avtar Amarjit Singh Khangure, Esquire; David Ralph Lewis, Esquire, Q.C.; Colin Richard Mackintosh, Esquire; Paul Mann, Esquire; Andrew Richard Matthew Maw, Esquire; Robert Frank Owen, Esquire, Q.C.; Miss Sarah Ruth Paneth; John Peter Pini, Esquire; David Michael Pittaway, Esquire, Q.C.; Simon John Howard Readhead, Esquire; Douglas George Readings, Esquire; Peter Michael Ross, Esquire; Timothy John Spencer, Esquire; John Brychan Steel, Esquire, Q.C.; Richard Henry Swain, Esquire; Miss Kathryn Mary Thirlwall, Q.C. Nicholas John David Webb, Esquire; Lewis Justin Wigoder, Esquire; and Mrs. Mary Christine Wilson.

#### For appointment to the Wales and Chester Circuit:

Malcolm Leslie Bishop, Esquire, Q.C.; Timothy Roger Brennan, Esquire; Gregory Bull, Esquire; Michael Laurence Chambers, Esquire; Ms Valerie Elen Mary Davies; Steven George Everett, Esquire; Charles Richard Fox, Esquire; Hugh Jonathan Furness, Esquire; Michael Nicholas Gareth Jones, Esquire; The Right Honourable The Lord Kingsland, T.D., Q.C.; Paul Keith Lewis, Esquire; David Vivian Manning-Davies, Esquire; Philip Derek Marshall, Esquire; Miss Helen Mifflin; Peter John Murphy, Esquire; Anthony James O'Toole, Esquire; Miss Isabel Clare Parry; Stephen Edmund Phillips, Esquire; John Mark Heywood Powell, Esquire; Mrs. Eleri Mair Rees; Philip Brian Richards, Esquire; Keith Garfield Thomas, Esquire; Paul Huw Thomas, Esquire; James Henry Hugh Tillyard, Esquire; Gregory Dennis Treverton-Jones, Esquire; Robert David Trevor Jones, Esquire; Richard William Twomlow, Esquire; Miss Penelope Jill Watkins; Lloyd Williams, Esquire; and Nicholas Frederick Woodward, Esquire. (1004)

C. I. P. Denyer

#### House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW

#### 19th July 2000

The QUEEN has been pleased by Letters Patent under the Great Seal of the Realm dated 19th July 2000, to appoint Stanley Jeffrey Burnton, Esquire, Q.C., to be a Justice of Her Majesty's High Court.

C. I. P. Denyer

House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW

19th July 2000

The QUEEN has been pleased by Letters Patent under the Great Seal of the Realm dated 19th July 2000, to appoint Andrew Charles Smith, Esquire, Q.C., to be a Justice of Her Majesty's High Court. (1003)

C. I. P. Denver

#### House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW

19th July 2000

The QUEEN has been pleased by Warrant under Her Royal Sign Manual dated 19th July 2000, to appoint Richard Charles Bathurst Wade, Esquire, to be a Circuit Judge in accordance with the Courts Act 1971. C I P Denver (1001)

Ecclesiastical

## Marriage Acts

A Building certified for worship named COVENANT LIFE CHRISTIAN CENTRE, 42A Nottingham Street (First Floor only), Melton Mowbray, in the registration district of Leicestershire in the county of Leicestershire, on 4th July 2000, registered for solemnising marriages therein pursuant to section 41 of the Marriage Act 1949, as amended by section 1(1) of the Marriage Acts Amendment Act, 1958. 13th July 2000. (250)

A Building certified for worship named ST ANDREWS CHURCH, Church Road, Barningham, in the registration district of Bury St. Edmunds, in the non-Metropolitan county of Suffolk, was, on 12th July 2000, registered for solemnising marriages therein, pursuant to section 41 of the Marriage Act 1949, as amended by section 1(1) of the Marriage Acts Amendment Act, 1958.

S. Bailey, Superintendent Registrar 18th July 2000.

(251)





# **Road Traffic Acts**

**Birmingham City Council** 

**TEMPORARY PROHIBITION OF THROUGH TRAFFIC ORDER 2000** 

### (ST MARTINS CIRCUS QUEENSWAY CITY CENTRE)

On 19th July 2000, the above-named Council made the above-named Order under sections 14(1)(a) and 14(7) of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984.

The effect of the Order is as described in Notice No. 505, which appeared in issue No. 55900 of The London Gazette published on 30th June 2000. The Order will come into operation on 23 July 2000.

A copy of the Order together with a plan and a statement of the Council's reasons are available for inspection at the offices of the Transportation Department, Constituency Services North, 1 Lancaster Circus Queensway, Birmingham B4 7DQ, during normal working hours.

If any person wishes to question the validity of the Order or of any of the provisions contained in it on the grounds that it is not within the powers conferred by the Act or on the grounds that any requirements of the Act or any Instrument made under it has not been complied with in relation to this Order may, within 6 weeks from 19th July 2000, apply to the High Court for this purpose.

D. Pywell, Director of Transportation 24th July 2000.

(1002)