Miss Suzanna COOPER. For public service.

- Ronald DENNIS, Chairman and Chief Executive, TAG McLaren Group. For services to Motor Sport.
- Henry Andrew Cridland DENSHAM, Joint Senior Partner, Burges Salmon Solicitors. For services to the Agricultural Industry.
- Andrew William DILNOT, Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies. For services to Economics and Economic Policy.
- George Neilson DONALDSON. For services to the Timber Industry.
- Morrison Alexander Rankin DUNBAR. For Services to the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama Trust.
- Miss Rosalind EYBEN, lately Chief Social Development Adviser, Department for International Development.
- Professor Ian FELLS, Professor of Energy Conversion, University of Newcastle. For services to Energy Technology and Policy.
- Leonard Raymond FENWICK, Chief Executive, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to the NHS.
- Miss Deirdre Christine FORDHAM, lately Divisional Manager, Disability Policy Division, Department for Education and Employment.
- William Michael Thomas FowLe. For services to the Business in the Community Partners in Leadership Mentoring Programme.
- Richard Stanley (Dick) FRANCIS, O.B.E., Author. For services to Literature.
- Professor Hazel Gillian GENN. For services to Research in Civil Justice.
- Kathleen Margaret, Mrs. GIBBONS, Headteacher, St. Kentigern's Academy, Bathgate. For services to Education.
- Anthony Arthur Edward GLENTON, M.B.E., T.D., Chairman, Port of Tyne Authority. For services to the Ports Industry and to the community in North East England.
- Alastair Ross GOOBEY, Chief Executive, Hermes Pensions Management Ltd. For services to the Pensions Industry.
- Professor Roderic Keith GRIFFITHS, Regional Director of Public Health, NHS Executive, Department of Health.
- George Edwin Guy, Head, Fire Policy Unit, Home Office.
- Professor Wendy HALL, Professor of Computer Science, University of Southampton. For services to Education and Science.
- Anthony Donald HAWKINS, Director, Fisheries Research Services Executive Agency, Scottish Executive.
- Ms Ruth HENIG, J.P., Chair, Association of Police Authorities. For services to the Police.
- Peter Michael HOMA, Director, Commission for Health Improvement. For services to Health Care.
- Ms Elizabeth Jane HOWARD, Author. For services to Literature.
- Professor Barry William IFE, Cervantes Professor of Spanish, King's College, London. For services to Hispanic Studies.
- Yvonne Clare, Mrs. JEFFRIES, lately Headteacher, Haywood High School, Stoke on Trent. For service to Education.

- Suresh Kamal KHANNA, Director, Middle East and Africa, British Trade International, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Derek Robert LANGSLOW, lately Chief Executive, English Nature. For services to Nature Conservation.
- Judith, Mrs. LITTLEWOOD, Chief Research Officer, Research Analysis and Evaluation Division, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.
- Professor Richard Brabazon MACRORY, Member, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. For services to Environment Protection and Law.
- Kim, Mrs. MANLEY, Acting Head, Practice Development, Royal College of Nursing. For services to the development of Quality Care for Patients.
- Mandy Shala, Mrs. MAYER, lately Head, Year 2000 Team, Cabinet Office.
- Allen James McCLAY, O.B.E. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry and to Industry/University Partnerships.
- Ann MCPHERSON, General Medical Practitioner, Oxford. For services to Teenage Health and to Innovations in Women's Health Care.
- Samuel Alexander MENDES, Theatre and Film Director. For services to Drama.
- Professor Ian Cedric MILBURN, Deputy Managing Director, Nissan Technical Centre Europe Ltd. For services to Industry and Science.
- Miss Anthea Christine MILLETT. For services to the Teacher Training Agency.
- Martin Anthony Mogg. For public service.
- Miss Oona Grant MUIRHEAD, O.B.E., lately Director of Information Strategy and News, Ministry of Defence.
- Raymond Francis O'BRIEN, Chairman, Speke Garston Development Company. For services to Regeneration on Merseyside.
- Michael O'CONNOR, Director of the Millennium Commission. For services to the Millennium.
- Sean O'DwyER, O.B.E., J.P., Chairman, Omagh Fund. For services to Industry, Education and to the Community.
- Professor Christopher John OLIVER, lately Consultant, Defence Evaluation and Research Agency, Ministry of Defence.
- Philip Christopher ONDAATJE. For charitable services to Museums and Galleries.
- Gordon Francis De Courcy PAGE, Chief Executive, Cobham plc. For services to the Defence and Aerospace Industries.
- Michael PARKINSON. For services to Broadcasting.
- Laurence Arthur PAVELIN, Grade 5, National Assembly for Wales.
- Miss Sian PHILLIPS, Actress. For services to Drama.
- Professor Anne Elizabeth POWER, M.B.E. For services to Regeneration and the Promotion of Resident Participation.
- Ms Anne QUINN, Group Vice President, BP Amoco plc. For services to Gas Marketing.
- Roderick James RENNET, Chief Executive, East of Scotland Water Authority. For services to Water Supplies.
- Mervyn ROLFE, J.P., D.L., Depute Leader, Dundee City Council. For services to Local Government.