Eric Ronald Hassall, D.S.C., Chairman, British Geological Survey. For services to Business/Science

David George HEYWOOD, Chairman, Remploy Ltd. For services to the Employment of Disabled People.

Rodney Irad Hills, Leader, York City Council. For services to Local Government and the City of York.

Barbara Nancy Hosking, O.B.E. For services to Women's Issues and to Broadcasting.

Professor John Wallace HUNT. For services to Management Development.

John Hunter, Director of Philip Education. Staffordshire County Council. For services to Education.

Ann James. For services to Social Welfare.

David Charles Jones, Chief Executive, Next plc. For services to the Retail Industry and the community.

Julia Elizabeth, Mrs. KING, Managing Director, Rolls-Royce Fan Systems. For services to Materials Engineering.

Brian Langdon, H.M. Chief Inspector of Mines, Health Safety Executive, Department Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Professor Meirion Francis Lewis, lately Senior Fellow, Defence Evaluation and Research Agency, Ministry of

Professor Margot Ruth Aline LISTER, Professor of Social Policy, Loughborough University. For services to Social Issues.

Professor Derek Alfred Walter LOVEJOY, For services to Landscape Architecture.

Professor Rona McLeod Mackie, Professor of Dermatology, University of Glasgow. For services to Dermatology and Melanoma Research.

Michael John Marshall, D.L. For services to the Engineering Industry and to the community in Cambridgeshire.

Gavin George MASTERTON, Treasurer and Managing Director, Bank of Scotland. For services to Banking. George Henry Moore, T.D. For services to the NHS.

Jan Morris. For services to Literature.

Robert Harry Beale NEAME, D.L., Chairman, Shepherd Neame Ltd. For services to the Brewing Industry, Tourism and the community.

John Newing, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Derbyshire Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Christopher John OAKLEY, Chief Executive, Regional Independent Newspapers. For services to the Newspaper Industry.

Wallace Olins. For services to the use of Design in

Christopher Stuart PARKER, Headteacher, Nottingham High School and Chairman, Advisory Group on Independent/State School Partnerships. For services to Education.

Chaitanya PATEL. For services to the Development of Social Care Policies.

Catherine Eleanor, Mrs. Porteous. For services to the Arts and to the National Council of One Parent Families.

Robert Andrew PRICKETT, lately Chief Crown Prosecutor for Wales, Crown Prosecution Service.

Miss Barbara Davis RAE, Artist. For services to Art.

Colin Leslie Reeves, Director, Finance and Performance, NHS Executive, Department of Health.

David William RICHARDSON. For services to the British Chambers of Commerce.

Professor Elizabeth Mary Russell. For services to Public Health Medicine.

James Gordon Russell, Q.F.S.M., lately Chief Fire Officer, Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the Fire Service.

Bryan Kaye Sanderson, Chief Executive, BP Amoco Chemicals. For services to the Chemical Industry.

Iain David SAVILLE, Chief Executive Officer, Crestco. For services to the Finance Industry.

Sukhdev Sharma. For services to Community Relations. Thomas Joseph Shaw. For public service.

Roy Derek SHELLEY, Business Group Director, GKN Westland Helicopters Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.

Anne, Mrs. Odling-Smee. For services to Education.

Grahame Reginald SMITH, D.L., lately Director, Head of Sellafield Site, BNFL. For services to BNFL and to the community in Cumbria.

Miss Juliet Anne Virginia Stevenson, Actress. For services to Drama.

John Honeyman SWAINSON, Assistant Director, Department of Social Security.

David Malcolm TAYLOR, Assistant Chief Veterinary Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Keith John Thomas, Director of Highways, Welsh Office. Margaret Elspeth, Mrs. Thomas. For services to the British Red Cross Society.

John Robin THOMPSON, Director, Strategic Planning, Kent County Council. For services to Town and Country Planning.

David James Knights TRENCH, Site and Structures Director, Millennium Dome. For services to the Construction Industry.

Alan George Tritton, D.L. For services to Anglo/Indian Relations and to the Preservation of the Cultural Heritage.

Michael John Turner, Executive Director, British Aerospace plc. For services to the Aerospace Industry.

Alfred John Emery-Wallis, Leader, Frederick Hampshire County Council. For services to the community in Hampshire.

Martin Robert WEALE, Director, National Institute of Economic and Social Research. For services to Economics.

David Welch, Chief Executive, Royal Parks Agency, Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

Andrew WILLIAMSON, Director of Social Services, Devon. For services to Social Services.

John Wilson. SCS, Ministry of Defence.

Canon Kenyon Edward WRIGHT. For services to Constitutional Reform and Devolution in Scotland.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Charles Henry Adams. For services to Community Relations.

Lewis Drummond Adams, Training Consultant, Millennium Drivers. For services to the Railway Industry and to Employee Relations.

David ALDERDICE. For services to Local Government. Dominic ALLEN. For services to Sport.