

SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

of Friday, 1st August 1997

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper at the Post Office

SATURDAY, 2ND AUGUST 1997

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1.

2nd August 1997

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life upon the undermentioned:

Life Peers

To be Baronesses:

Miss Valerie Amos, Director, Amos Fraser Bernard. Helena Ann, Mrs. Kennedy, Q.C., Queen's Counsel. Jill Elizabeth, Mrs. PITKEATHLEY, O.B.E., Chief Executive, Carers National Association; Member, Health Advisory Service.

Veronica, Mrs. Linklater, Chairman, The New School Butterstone; Trustee, Esmee Fairbairn Charitable Trust; Trustee, Cancer Care, Western General Hospital

Sarah Ann, Mrs. LUDFORD, Barrister; Councillor, Islington Local Borough Council; European Affairs

Diana Margaret, Mrs. MADDOCK, lately Member of Parliament for Christchurch. Liberal Democrat spokeswoman on Housing, Women's Issues and Family Policy, 1994-97.

Emma Harriet, Mrs. Nicholson, lately Member of Parliament for Devon West and Torridge; Liberal Democrat spokeswoman Development, 1995-97. International

Ruth Barbara, Mrs. RENDELL, C.B.E., Author. Miss Patricia Janet Scotland, Q.C., Queen's Counsel. Miss Barbara Scott Young, Chief Executive, Royal Society for the Preservation of Birds.

To be Barons:

Steven Bassam, Leader, Brighton and Hove Council, Head of Environmental Health and Consumer Issues, Local Government Association; lately Assistant Secretary, AMA.

Clive BROOKE, Joint General Secretary, Public Services Tax and Commerce Union (PTC).

Tom Burlison, Deputy General Secretary, GMB and Treasurer, Labour Party.

The Right Honourable Sir John Ambrose COPE, lately Member of Parliament for Northavon; Deputy Chairman, Conservative Party, 1990-92; Paymaster General, 1992-94.

Bryan Davies, lately Member of Parliament for Oldham Central and Royton; Secretary, Royton; Parliamentary Labour Party 1979-92.

David Garfield DAVIES, C.B.E., General Secretary, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers.

Navnit Dholakia, O.B.E., Member, Liberal Democrat Federal Executive and Federal Policy Committee; Member, Police Complaints Authority. Sir William Howard GOODHART, Q.C., Queen's

Counsel.

James Stuart GORDON, C.B.E., Chairman, Scottish Radio Holdings plc.

Peter HARDY, lately Member of Parliament for Wentworth; Leader, Labour Delegation to the Council of Europe and WEU 1983-95 and of Labour Delegation to OSCE, 1990-97.

Norman Hogg, lately Member of Parliament for Cumbernauld and Kilsyth; Deputy Chief Opposition Whip, 1983-87.

Robert Hughes, lately Member of Parliament for Aberdeen North; Opposition spokesperson, Agriculture, 1983-84; Transport, 1985-88; Shadow Cabinet, 1985-88.

Royston John Hughes, D.L., lately Member of Parliament for Newport East; Opposition