

SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

of Friday, 1st August 1997

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper at the Post Office

SATURDAY, 2ND AUGUST 1997

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1.

2nd August 1997

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life upon the undermentioned:

Life Peers

To be Baronesses:

Miss Valerie Amos, Director, Amos Fraser Bernard. Helena Ann, Mrs. Kennedy, Q.C., Queen's Counsel. Jill Elizabeth, Mrs. PITKEATHLEY, O.B.E., Chief Executive, Carers National Association; Member, Health Advisory Service.

Veronica, Mrs. Linklater, Chairman, The New School Butterstone; Trustee, Esmee Fairbairn Charitable Trust; Trustee, Cancer Care, Western General Hospital

Sarah Ann, Mrs. LUDFORD, Barrister; Councillor, Islington Local Borough Council; European Affairs

Diana Margaret, Mrs. MADDOCK, lately Member of Parliament for Christchurch. Liberal Democrat spokeswoman on Housing, Women's Issues and Family Policy, 1994-97.

Emma Harriet, Mrs. Nicholson, lately Member of Parliament for Devon West and Torridge; Liberal Democrat spokeswoman Development, 1995-97. International

Ruth Barbara, Mrs. RENDELL, C.B.E., Author. Miss Patricia Janet Scotland, Q.C., Queen's Counsel. Miss Barbara Scott Young, Chief Executive, Royal Society for the Preservation of Birds.

To be Barons:

Steven Bassam, Leader, Brighton and Hove Council, Head of Environmental Health and Consumer Issues, Local Government Association; lately Assistant Secretary, AMA.

Clive Brooke, Joint General Secretary, Public Services

Tax and Commerce Union (PTC).

Tom Burlison, Deputy General Secretary, GMB and Treasurer, Labour Party.

The Right Honourable Sir John Ambrose COPE, lately Member of Parliament for Northavon; Deputy Chairman, Conservative Party, 1990-92; Paymaster General, 1992-94.

Bryan Davies, lately Member of Parliament for Oldham Central and Royton; Secretary, Royton;

Parliamentary Labour Party 1979-92.

David Garfield DAVIES, C.B.E., General Secretary, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers.

Navnit Dholakia, O.B.E., Member, Liberal Democrat Federal Executive and Federal Policy Committee; Member, Police Complaints Authority. Sir William Howard GOODHART, Q.C., Queen's

Counsel.

James Stuart GORDON, C.B.E., Chairman, Scottish Radio Holdings plc.

Peter HARDY, lately Member of Parliament for Wentworth; Leader, Labour Delegation to the Council of Europe and WEU 1983-95 and of Labour Delegation to OSCE, 1990-97.

Norman Hogg, lately Member of Parliament for Cumbernauld and Kilsyth; Deputy Chief

Opposition Whip, 1983-87.

Robert Hughes, lately Member of Parliament for Aberdeen North; Opposition spokesperson, Agriculture, 1983-84; Transport, 1985-88; Shadow Cabinet, 1985-88.

Royston John Hughes, D.L., lately Member of Parliament for Newport East; Opposition

spokesperson of Welsh Affairs, 1984-88; Member of the Council of Europe, 1990-97.

Philip Alexander HUNT, O.B.E., Chief Executive, National Health Service Confederation.

Sir David Anthony JACOBS, Vice President, Social and Liberal Democrats, 1988; Chairman, Federal Executive, Social and Liberal Democrats, 1988.

The Honourable Greville Ewan Janner, Q.C., lately Member of Parliament for Leicester West; Honorary Vice President, World Jewish Congress.

The Right Honourable William Armand Thomas Tristan Garel-Jones, lately Member of Parliament for Watford; Deputy Chief Whip, 1989-90; Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, 1990-93.

Michael Abraham Levy, Director, M and G Records; President, Jewish Care.

The Right Honourable Sir Hector Seymour Peter Monro, A.E., D.L., lately Member of Parliament for Dumfries; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Scottish Office, 1971-74; Department of the Environment, 1979-81; Scottish Office, 1992-95.

Michael Jacob Montague, C.B.E., Chairman, Superframe plc; Chairman, Montague Multinational Ltd; formerly Chairman, English

Tourist Board.

The Right Honourable Alfred MORRIS, A.O., Q.S.O., lately Member of Parliament for Manchester (Wythenshawe); Opposition spokesman on Social Services, 1970-74 and 1979-92; Minister for the Disabled, 1974-79.

The Right Honourable Michael Wolfgang Laurence Morris, lately Member of Parliament for Northampton South; Chairman of Ways and Means and Deputy Speaker, House of Commons,

1992-97.

Richard Mark Newby, O.B.E., Director, Matrix Communications Consultancy Ltd; Chairman, Reform Publications Ltd; lately Director of External Communication, Liberal Democrat General Election Team, 1996-97.

The Right Honourable Stanley ORME, lately Member of Parliament for Salford East; Minister of State for Social Security and Member of the Cabinet, 1977-79; Opposition spokesman, Health and Social

- Services, 1979-80, on Industry, 1980-83, on Energy, 1983-87; Chairman, Parliamentary Labour Party, 1987-92.
- Sir David Terence Puttnam, C.B.E., Film Producer; Chairman Enigma Productions Ltd.
- Stuart Randall, lately Member of Parliament for Kingston upon Hull West; Opposition spokesman on Agriculture, Food and Fisheries Affairs, 1985-87; on Home Affairs, 1987-92.
- Edward Timothy RAZZALL, C.B.E., Liberal Democrat Councillor, Richmond Borough Council; Treasurer, Liberal Democrats.
- Sir Robin William RENWICK, K.C.M.G., Director Robert Fleming Holdings Ltd; Chairman, Save & Prosper Group; H.M. Ambassador, South Africa, 1987-91, United States of America, 1991-95.
- The Right Honourable Sir Ieuan Wyn Pritchard ROBERTS, lately Member of Parliament for Conwy; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, 1979-87; Minister of State, 1987-94, Welsh Office.
- David John SAINSBURY, Chairman and Chief Executive, J. Sainsbury plc.
- Sir Michael Graham Ruddock SANDBERG, C.B.E., Chairman, The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation, 1977-86; The British Bank of the Middle East, 1980-86.
- George SIMPSON, Managing Director, General Electric Co plc.
- Sir Trevor Arthur SMITH, Vice Chancellor and Honorary Professor, University of Ulster.
- Andrew Zelig STONE, Joint Managing Director, Marks and Spencer plc.
- Terence James Thomas, C.B.E., Managing Director, Co-operative Bank.
- The Right Honourable Sir Harold WALKER, lately Member of Parliament for Doncaster Central; Chairman of Ways and Means and Deputy Speaker, House of Commons, 1983-92.
- Michael Goodall Watson, lately Member of Parliament for Glasgow Central; Chairman, Parliamentary Labour Party Overseas Development Aid Committee, 1991-97.



Published and printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Peter Macdonald, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. Price £1:20