Roger William KNIGHT, Grade 7, Home Office. Robert MacLeod LACEY. For political and public service.

Dr. Elizabeth LAVERICK, Honorary Secretary, Women's Engineering Society. For services to women in Engineering and Science.

Professor George Jeffery LEIGH, Deputy Head, Agriculture and Food Research Council Nitrogen Fixation Laboratory. For services to Science.

Mike LEIGH, Writer and Director. For services to the Film Industry.

Gordon LUND, Principal Building Surveyor, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Miss Joyce Irene MAGOR, Grade 6, Overseas Development Administration.

Ian MARR, Chairman, Aberdeen and District Milk Marketing Board. For services to the Dairy Industry.

David Rupert MAYES, Headteacher, Cockshut Hill Comprehensive School, Birmingham. For services to Education.

Professor Daniel Vincent McCAUGHAN, lately Board Chairman, Industrial Research and Technology Unit. For services to Technological Advancement in Northern Ireland.

Captain Norman David McFARLANE, Grade 6, Department of Transport.

Miss Anne Geraldine McGRATH, Principal, Little Flower Girls' School, Belfast. For services to Education.

Robert Ian Shaw MEADOWS, Managing Director, R. S. Clare and Company Ltd. For services to Industry.

Andrew Robert MITCHELL, I.S.O. For services to Sport for the Disabled in Scotland.

Peter Crichton MITCHELL, Q.P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, Strathclyde Police.

Robert Alan MONKHOUSE, Entertainer. For charitable services.

The Very Reverend Dr. Peter Clement MOORE, Dean and Rector, St. Albans Cathedral.

Sydney MORTIMER, Specialist Inspector, Health and Safety Executive, Department of Employment.

Professor Helen Christine MUIR, Director, Department of Applied Psychology, College of Aeronautics, Cranfield. For services to Transport Safety.

Sister Carina MULDOON, Director, St. Joseph's Training School, Middletown, Northern Ireland. For services to Young People.

Michael Anthony MUSKETT, Grade 6, Ministry of Defence.

Michael Joseph MYLOD, Deputy Chief Constable, Hampshire Constabulary.

Charles John NAYLOR, lately National Secretary, National Council of YMCAs. Procter NAYLOR, Director, East Anglia Tourist

Procter NAYLOR, Director, East Anglia Tourist Board. For services to Tourism.

Richard NEALE, lately Member, Occupational Pensions Board.

Dr. Stephen NEPAULSINGH, Member, School Examinations and Assessment Council. For services to Education.

Harry NOBLE, lately Director, Economic Development and Planning, Coventry City Council. For services to Local Government.

Charles Roger Macpherson NOTCUTT, Chairman, Notcutt Nurseries Ltd. For services to the Horticultural Industry.

Sheila Dorothy, Mrs. ÓLDHAM. For political and public service.

Andrew Hugh Fitzgerald OLSON. For services to Energy Conservation in London.

Professor Robert OWEN, D.L. For services to the National Health Service in Wales.

Ann Veronica Margaret, Mrs. PALMER, M.B.E., Director General, Bus and Coach Council. For services to the Bus and Coach Industry.

Cameron Holdsworth PARKER. For services to the Marine Engineering Industry.

Keith John PARKER, Editor and Director, Express and Star, Wolverhampton. For services to Journalism.

Michael Henry PARKINSON, Vice-Chairman, Bradford and District Training and Enterprise Council. For services to Training and Education.

Lieutenant Colonel Godfrey Philip Desmond PEASE, R.M. (Retired), Deputy Representative Chairman, Southern Area, Sea Cadet Corps.

Harold Lindsay PERKS. For political and public service.

Jill Elizabeth, Mrs. PITKEATHLEY, Director, Carers' National Association. For services to the support of Carers.

Rudolf Theodor Felix PLAUT, Chairman Northmace plc. For services to Industry in Wales.

Douglas Thomas PONSFORD, Grade 7, Department of Trade and Industry.

Brian James PORTEOUS, Grade 6, H.M. Treasury. Rosalind, Mrs. PRESTON, Vice-President, Board of Deputies of British Jews and Honorary Vice-President, National Council of Women of Great Britain.

Miss Wendy Anne Jopling RAMSHAW (Mrs. Watkins), Jeweller. For services to Art.

Derek RAWSON, lately City Engineer, Birmingham. For services to Municipal Engineering.

Dr. James Dudley READ, Director, National Health Service Centre for Coding and Classification. For services to Medicine.

Major Norman RICKETTS, Chairman 75th Anniversary Committee, King George's Fund for Sailors.

Miss Anne Christine Elizabeth RIDER, Retired Maternity Services Manager University College Hospital London. For services to the Midwifery Profession.

Rex ROBERTS. For political and public service.

Robin John Kerfoot ROBERTS, Grade 6 Department of Social Security.

Douglas George ROBERTSÓN, Vice President, Royal Scottish Corporation. For services to the Elderly in London.

James ROBSON, Divisional Veterinary Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Harold Kenneth ROSE, Member, Norfolk County Council. For services to Local Government.

Miss (Katherine) Patricia ROUTLEDGE, Actress. For services to Drama.

Andrew ROXBURGH. For services to Association Football.

Brian David SCOTT, Director, Great Western, British Railways. For services to Rail Transport.

John Arthur SEAMAN, Doctor, Save the Children Fund. For services to World Health.

John Norman SEFTON, Chairman, British Visqueen Ltd. For service to the Chemical and Plastic

Michael Aylwin SELFE, lately County Surveyor, Essex County Council. For services to Highways Engineering.

Penelope Ann, Mrs. SELIGMAN, Chair, Board of Visitors, H.M. Prison Whitemoor. For services to Prison Board of Visitors.