- Group Captain Richard James GOWRING, Royal Air Force.
- Air Commodore James Stuart HALL, Royal Air Force (Retired).
- Group Captain Christopher Terence MOORE, Royal Air Force.
- Group Captain Ronald NIELD, Royal Air Force (Retired).

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Wing Commander Kenneth William BALDOCK (0593398), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Peter Charles BUTCHER (4232848), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Clive Richard COOPER (8022701), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander James Lloyd DAVIES (0507883), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Peter John DYE (5202108), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Antony John FEATHERSTONE (4179753), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Brian Ward PRICE (2617699), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Peter John ROBBIE (0608626), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Michael John RUSSELL (4233102), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander David Maurice WESLEY (4335728), Royal Air Force.
- Wing Commander Malcolm Graham Forrester WHITE (8025932), Royal Air Force.

M.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Squadron Leader Paul Stuart Giles ADAMS (4233057), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Gerald ALMOND (0592109), Royal Air Force (Retired).
- Warrant Officer Patrick Joseph ANDERSON (C1950272), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Terence Charles CLIFTON (Q1947977), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader William Russell COUSTON (4276261), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).
- Squadron Leader Michael Stuart DEAN (0686302), Royal Air Force.
- Flight Lieutenant John Christopher GARDINER (0595449), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Peter John HEARN (4232602), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Derek Gerald HOBDEN (U0592827), Royal Air Force (Retired).
- Warrant Officer William Charles JONES (E1960827), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Robert John Merriman KEMP (5203406), Royal Air Force Regiment.
- Squadron Leader John Crow KENNEDY (4249472), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).
- Squadron Leader David Alexander KNIGHT (5202301), Royal Air Force.
- Reverend (Squadron Leader) Andrew Harry John LANE (5203832), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader John McCOURT (4201833), Royal Air Force.
- Master Aircrew Alistair David John MACKIE (C0686681), Royal Air Force.

- Warrant Officer David Pirnie McLAUCHLAN (J4245882), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Matthew McSHANE (3519913), Royal Air Force Volunter Reserve (Training) (Retired).
- Master Aircrew Nicholas John NEWTON (R8018844), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Desmond Joseph O'HARA (L1935571), Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Anthony John PETERSON (L4280102), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Malcolm Hamlyn RUSH (0506190), Royal Air Force.
- Squadron Leader Annabel SMITH (2833954), Women's Royal Air Force.
- Warrant Officer Edward Albert WARD (J4165935), Royal Air Force (Retired).
- Warrant Officer Michael Kevin WILLETTS (N0690063), Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire Civil Division

D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Miss Moura LYMPANY, C.B.E., Concert Pianist. For services to Music.
- Wendy, Mrs. MITCHELL, O.B.E. For political and public service.
- Miss Shirley Anne OXENBURY, O.B.E. For political service.

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor Ernest Ronald OXBURGH, Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence.

C.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Ian Charles Franklin ANDREWS, T.D., Grade 5, Ministry of Defence.
- Ronald ASHFORD, Group Director, Safety Regulation, Civil Aviation Authority.
- Ernest Dennis BARKWAY, O.B.E., Leader, London Borough of Bromley. Vice Chairman, London Boroughs Association.
- Peter Gibbs BIRCH, Group Chief Executive, Abbey National plc.
- Harold Edward BOLTER, Director, Corporate Affairs and Company Secretary, British Nuclear Fuels plc.
- Graham Maitland BOWIE, Chief Executive, Lothian Regional Council.
- John Moore BRIDGES, Professor of Haematology, Queen's University, Belfast.
- Professor Leonard BROADBENT, O.B.E., lately Chairman, British Agrochemical Standards Inspection Scheme Limited.
- Gillian, Mrs. BROWN, Professor of English as an International Language, Cambridge University. Anthony David BURTON, lately Chairman, London
- Anthony David BURTON, lately Chairman, London International Financial Futures and Options Exchange (LIFFE).
- Michael CAINE, Actor.