Miss Mary Elizabeth PETERS, M.B.E. For services to

Miss Margaret Eva RAYNER, lately Vice-Chairman, Schools Examination and Assessment Council; Vice-Principal, St. Hilda's College.

Peter Philip RIGBY. For services to the City of

London Corporation.

Michael Jeremy Lomax SAYERS, For services to horticulture.

Barry Edward SEALEY, Deputy Chairman, Christian Salveson plc., Edinburgh.

Gordon Robert SEWARD, Professor of Oral and Maxillo-facial Surgery, The London Hospital Medical College.

John Michael SEWELL. For political and public

service.

Norbert SINGER, Director, Thames Polytechnic. Graham William SMITH, Chief Probation Officer, Inner London Probation Service.

Bernard Leonard John SPRATT, lately Grade 5, Crown Prosecution Service.

Professor Francis Gordon Albert STONE, Head, Department of Inorganic Chemistry, University of

Jeffrey Philip TATE, Principal Conductor, English Chamber Orchestra; Principal Conductor, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

Frank THOMLINSON, Chairman, Horticultural

Development Council.

Colonel George Digby THOMPSON, M.C., T.D., lately Honorary Colonel, Inns of Court and City Yeomanry, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association, Greater London.
Peter TOMPKINS, H.M. Chief Inspector of

Immigration.

John Rosewarne TRAHAIR, lately Chairman, Plymouth Health Authority.

Peter Joseph USHER, O.B.E., Deputy Chairman,

Vosper Thorneycroft (UK) plc.

Alan WARHURST, Director, Manchester Museum. Leonard John WEAVER, Chairman, Polymark International plc.

John Kay WELSBY, Member, Chief Executive (Railways), British Railways Board.

Thomas Henry Martin WHIPHAM, President, London Rent Assessment Panel.

John Michael Stannage WHITEHEAD, D.L., Board of Governors, Chairman. Leicester Polytechnic.

Anthony Basil WILBRAHAM. For political service. Richard Geoffrey WILKES, O.B.E., T.D., D.L., lately Consulting Partner, Price Waterhouse.

Ronald Millward WILLIAMS, D.L., Chairman, Southend Health Authority; Member, Essex County Council.

Thomas Brendan WILSON, Emeritus Professor of Music, University of Glasgow.

Charles Milne WINTER, Group Chief Executive, The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc.

Anthony John Keith WOODHEAD. For political service.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Colin ALVES, Secretary, General Synod of the Church of England's Board of Education.

Joyce Anne, Mrs. ANELAY. For political and public

Andrew Patterson ARMSTRONG, Deputy District Manager, Total Oil Marine, Aberdeen.

Reginald Richard William ARNELL, Managing Director, Finance British Shipbuilders.

ATKINSON. Richard Stuart Consultant Anaesthetist, Southend District Health Authority.

Melvyn Peter Keith BARNES, Guildhall Librarian and Director of Libraries and Art Galleries, City of London.

Thomas Alan Frank BARNES, Chairman, National Rivers Authority, North West Regional Fisheries Advisory Committee.

Pamela, Lady BARNETT, Chairman, Wiltshire Branch and Member of Council, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.

Miss Sybil Adelaide BERESFORD-PEIRSE. For services to The Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Centre.

James BERRY, Poet.

Elizabeth, Mrs. BLAYDES. For services to Lacrosse. George Philip BROWN, lately Senior Assistant Accountant, House of Commons.

Elizabeth Anne, Mrs. BROWNING, National Chairman, Women's Farming Union.

hn Lorne CAMPBELL, For services to Conservation on the Isle of Canna and to Gaelic History.

John Athelstan CHARTRES, T.D., Author and Journalist. For services to Journalism.

Dorothy, Mrs. CLARKSON, Chairman and Trustee, Clarkson Jersey Charitable Trust.

David Brinley CLAY JONES. For services to Broadcasting and Gardening in Wales.

James Brian CLOUSTON, Chairman RPS Group plc,

Environmental Consultants.

Miss Mary Patricia COLE, Founder and Chairman, St. Ann's Hospice, Manchester.

Bernard COLEMAN. For services to Cricket.

Brian Robert COLEMAN, Ministry of Defence. William James COLWILL, Grade 6, Central Office of

Information.

John Michael CORNER, Editor, The Star, Sheffield. Michael John COUPLAND, lately Technical Director, Components, STC plc.

John Egwin CRAIG, lately Chairman, Executive Committee, British Bankers' Association.

William CRAWFORTH, Manager, Property Services Department, Navy, Army and Air Force Institutes, London.

John CRIPWELL, Director, National Trust, Wessex Region.

Very Reverend George Philip CROSFIELD, Provost, St. Mary's Cathedral, Edinburgh.

Reginald Charles CROSS, President and Chairman, Polytechnic of Huddersfield Governing Council.

William Mackenzie CURRIE, lately Head of Marketing and Sales Department, Harwell Laboratory, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority.

John Knight, DAVIDSON, Consultant Radiologist, Western Infirmary and Gartnavel General Hospital, Glasgow.

Samuel Ivan DAVIDSON, Headmaster, Killard House Special School, Newtownards.

Kathleen Anne, Mrs. DAVIES. For services to the Disabled.

Trevor DICKINSON, H.M. Inspector of Schools, Department of Education and Science.

Professor Allan St John DIXON. For services to Medicine.

Gordon Henri DODD, Operations Director, FBM Marine Ltd, Cowes, Isle of Wight.