Vincent Francis (Frank) HEANEY, lately Regional Manager, Northern Ireland Carriers Ltd.

John Stuart HEEKS, Director, Defence Systems, STC Technology Ltd.

Merryn Sinclair, Mrs. HENDERSON, Chief Area Nursing Officer, Shetland Health Board.

Frank Chilton HILL, Grade 7, Eastern Traffic Area, Nottingham, Department of Transport.

Alan HOLT, Grade 6, The Patent Office.

Richard HOPE, Railway Journalist. Publisher, Railway Gazette International.

James William Nicholson HOSEASON, Chairman, Hoseasons Holidays Ltd.

Miss Greta HOUGHTON. For political service.

William Cullingford HOUSE, Assistant Director of Research, Imperial Cancer Research Fund.

John HOUSTON, Artist.

John Francis HOUSTON. For political service.

Peter Frederick HOWGATE, lately Grade 7, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Ashley Clarence HUGHES, Assistant Controller, North West Region, Department of Social Security.

Wing Commander Frederick William HULME, R.A.F.V.R. (T) (Retd.). For services to the Air Training Corps.

Alasdair Henry HUTTON, M.B.E., T.D. For political service.

Clive INGRAM, lately Deputy Managing Director, Industrial Engineering Division, Press Construction.

Alistair John Carmichael JOHNSTON, Managing Director, The Gates Rubber Company Ltd, Dumfries.

Elisabeth Audrey, Mrs. JONES. For political and public service.

Trefor Glyn JONES, Chief Executive, Pilkington Optronics, St Asaph.

Brian Ernest Herbert JOY, Jurat and Lieutenant Bailiff, Guernsey.

Barbara Joan, Mrs. KAHAN, Chairman, National Children's Bureau.

John Edward KANE, Principal, West London Institute of Higher Education.

Francis KELLY, Headmaster, Bishop Henshaw School, Rochdale.

Alan KILKENNY, Chairman, Publicity Group, Wishing Well Appeal, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Sick Children.

Anne, Mrs. KIND, lately Public Liaison Organiser, Leicestershire Organisation for the Relief of Suffering.

David KIRKPATRICK, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

John Arthur LANCHBERY, Conductor. For services to Music.

John Francis LAVERY, Managing Director, Guinness Northern Ireland Ltd.

Dennis LIGHTFOOT, lately Manager, Multi-Launch Rocket System, Birtley, Royal Ordnance plc.

Geoffrey Ralph LIVESEY, Group Managing Director, Cobble Blackburn Ltd.

Awni Michael LUTFY, Pathologist, Dumfries and Galloway Health Board.

Roy LYNK, National President, Union o Democratic Mineworkers.

David MAWSON, D.L., Founder and Chairman, British Association of Friends of Museums.

John Charles MAYNARD, Divisional Chief Executive, Amersham International.

Thomas McCAFFERTY, Chief Executive, Fraser Williams Group Ltd.

John McCARTHY, Founder and Choral Director, The Ambrosian Opera Chorus and the John McCarthy Singers.

Desmond McCOURT, lately Chairman, Northern Ireland Historic Monuments Council.

Duncan James McKICHAN. For services to Law. William David Shanks McLAY, Chief Medical Officer, Strathclyde Police.

Martin Wilkinson McNICOL, Vice-Chairman, Parkside Health Authority.

George Kenneth MEDLOCK, D.L., Chairman,

Inward Ltd.

David Austin MEI FORD Materials Research

David Austin MELFORD, Materials Research Consultant; lately Director of Research and Deputy General Manager, TI Research Laboratories.

Alastair MILNE, lately H.M. Inspector of Schools, Scottish Office.

William MINTO, Chairman, Sellafield Local Liaison Committee; Leader, Cumbria County Council.

Reginald MITCHELL, lately Grade 7, Department of Employment.

Samuel MOORE, Chairman and Managing Director, Moore Unidrill Ltd.

Richard Mark NEWBY. For political service.

Francis Denzil NEWTON, Senior Partner, Carter Jonas, Chartered Surveyors.

(Angela) Jane (Udale), Mrs. NICHOLAS. For services to Dance.

Robert NIMMO, Rector, High School of Dundee. Thomas NOLAN, Chief Executive, South Eastern, Education and Library Board, Northern Ireland.

Brian Ward PAGE, Director, Foreign Language Teaching Unit, University of Leeds.

Derrick Hughes PARRY, Controller of Lands and Deputy Chief Executive, Land Authority for Wales. Richard William PATRICK, Managing Director,

Blankney Estates Ltd.
Stanley Thomas PEACOCK, Managing Director,
Rupherrys Ltd.

Burberrys Ltd.
Hazel, Mrs. PEARSON. For political and public service.

Professor Peter Seward PELL, lately Head of Department of Civil Engineering, University of Nottingham.

Miss Susan Elizabeth Manthorp PEMBREY, Director, Institute of Nursing, Oxford District, Clinical Practice Development Nurse.

Patricia Anne, Mrs. PERKINS. For political and public service.

John Edward PERRY, Grade 6, Office of Fair Trading.

Roger Michael Thomas PHAYRE, Grade 7, Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service.

Michael Stuart PHILIP, M.B.E. For services to Forestry.

William Duncan PINKNEY. For services to the community in North Humberside.

John PLATT, Chairman, Cheshire Agricultural Society.

James William PORTER, Director, Michelin Tyre plc. James Harkness RAE, Director of Planning, Glasgow District Council.

Alfred Joseph Bragington RATCLIFFE. For services to Agriculture in Wales.

Miss Annette Barbara RAWSON, Senior Medical Officer, Department of Health.

Frederick Thomas REES, Director, Rank Hovis Ltd. Roger Coltman REES, Chief Executive, Salford Metropolitan Borough Council.

Colin David REID, lately Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.