Robert ROBERTS, Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, Department of Trade and Industry.

Eric Brian ROYCROFT, Director of Social Services, Newcastle-upon-Tyne Metropolitan Borough Coun-

Peter William SHARMAN, lately Chief General Manager, Norwich Union Insurance Group.

Miss Theodora Martha SIMMONS, Assistant Secretary, Northern Ireland Office.

Robert Anthony SLY, Managing Director, Telephone Rentals plc.

Leslie STEVENS, Chairman, Fothergill and Harvey plc.

Charles Edwin TAYLOR, Director, Scottish Crop Research Institute.

Peter TYRER, Senior Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Kenneth Murray WALTON, Managing Director, STC Components Ltd.

John Alleyne WEDGEWOOD, lately Chairman, Southern Electricity Board.

Timothy Lancaster WEST, Actor and Director.

Brian Ernest WHITAKER, Managing Director. Navy, Army and Air Force Institute.

Iorwerth WILLIAMS, Principal, Braintree College of Further Education.

George WILSON, Director, Royal Association for Disability and Rehabilitation.

## O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Joseph ADAMS, Leader, Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council.

Barbara, Mrs. ADAMS, Grade 6, Department of the Environment.

William George Greenlees ALEXANDER, Partner, William Alexander (Eynsford) Ltd.

Yaqub ALI, Chairman and Managing Director, A A Brothers Ltd.

James Frank ALLCOCK, Director of Petroleum Purchasing, British Gas Corporation.

Kenneth William ALLDAY, T.D. For services to the Jockey Club.

James Masson ANDERSON, D.L., lately Chairman, Moray District Council.

Robert Cameron ASHWORTH, Sales Director, The

Marconi Company Ltd. For services to Export. Geoffrey Lavie AURET, M.B.E., lately Secretary, Northern Ireland Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Evelyn, Lady BARBIROLLI. For services to music.

Susan Mary, The Honourable Mrs. BARING, Member, Inner London Probation Committee.

Albert BATTERSBY, Managing Director, VDU Installations Ltd.

Jeremy Henry BENSON, Chairman, Georgian Group.

Thomas William BEWSEY, Director, British Marine Equipment Council.

Stanley BLOW. For Political and Public Service.

Patricia Anne, Mrs. BOWEN-WEST, Deputy Director, Bedford College of Higher Education.

Dorothea Ethel, Mrs. BRETT. For Political and Public Service.

Richard Lindsay BRISTOW. For Political and Public Service.

George Robert BRUCE. For services to poetry and the arts in Scotland.

Eileen Margaret, Mrs. BURBIDGE. For services to the Girl Guides Association.

Thomas BURKE, Chief Probation Officer, Middlesex Area Probation Services.

Clifford Luther BURMAN, M.B.E. For services to the Royal British Legion in Norfolk.

Gerald Raymond BURT, B.E.M., lately Chief Secretary, British Railways Board.

James BURTON, Medical Director, ECHO (Equipment for Charity Hospitals Overseas).

Richard Anson BURTON, Chairman, British Growers' Look Ahead National Conference and Ex-

Charles Frederick BUSHELL, Principal, Ministry of Defence.

Philip Rawlins BUTCHER, Assistant Director-General, National Farmers' Union.

Alasdair Blair CAMERON, Director of Research and Development, J. H. Fenner and Company Ltd.

Archibald Doon CAMPBELL. For services to journalism.

John Thomas CARTER, Editor, Western Morning News.

William Nicholas CARTER, Typographer and Calligrapher, Rampant Lions Press.

Miss Elizabeth Kate CHAPMAN, Lecturer, Department of Special Education, University of Birmingham.

George CHISHOLM, Jazz Trombonist.

Hubert Neville CHITTICK. For services to the archaeology and ethnohistory of East Africa.

George William CLARK. For services to political journalism.

Frances Pickett, Lady CLARKE, Vice Chairman, Venice in Peril.

Eric George CLIFTON, lately Livestock Husbandry Advisory Officer Grade I, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

John Farrington COOKE, lately Joint Managing Director, Castings plc.

John Michael COOLING, Chairman, J. M. Cooling Group of Companies.

Charles Henry John COPE, Operations Director (Railways), London Transport Executive.

Murray Gibson COWIE, Principal Professional and

Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence. Sidney Walter Reginald COX, Acting Director, National Institute of Agricultural Engineering.

Ethel Eva, Mrs. CRANE, lately Director, International Bee Research Association.

Dennis Bryon CRAWFORD. For services to Forestry particularly in Scotland.

Lieutenant Colonel Graeme Campbell Eley CREW, (Retd.), Secretary, Winchester Division, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.

Thomas James CRISPIN, National Secretary (Power and Engineering Group), Transport & General Workers' Union.

Michael John CUFFLIN. For Political and Public Service.

Tudor DAVID, Editor, Education.

James Duncan Gordon DAVIDSON, M.V.O., Chief Executive, Royal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland.

John Duncan DAVIES, Director, Polytechnic of Wales.