Frank Joseph John CLARKE, Principal Scientific Officer, National Physical Laboratory.

Charles Leslie COLES, V.R.D., lately Director, The Game Conservancy.

Joseph Ignatius Člement CONNOLLY, Headteacher, St. Cuthbert Mayne High School, Fulwood.

Mary Gillieson, Mrs. COOK, lately Personnel Director, BIP Chemicals Ltd.

Peter James COOK, Director, North West Europe Area, Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Kenneth COOPER, Chief Executive, Medway Ports Authority.

James Trail Sinclair CORBETT, Chairman and Chief Executive, Butterley Building Material Ltd. Miss Brenda Agnes CRIBB. For Political Service.

Samuel Cyril CRYSTAL, lately Medical Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

Hugh Norman CUNNINGHAM, Governor Class I, Northern Ireland Prison Service.

Kenneth Graham CURE, Member (for the West Midlands), Executive Council, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Engineering Section).

Frank Bailey DAVEY, Farmer, Newquay.

Clive Anthony DAVIES, Chief Executive, Information Technology Ltd.

John Selwyn DAWSON, lately Principal, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

John Cyril DESBOROUGH. For services to Parliamentary journalism.

Beryl Alexandra, Mrs. DUCKWORTH. For Political and Public Service in the North West of England.

Trevor George William EADE, Principal, Department of Health and Social Security.

Eric EARNSHAW, Inspector, Board of Inland Revenue.

William White EASTON, Principal, Falkirk College of Technology.

Mathieu Donald EINHORN. For Political and Public Service in Yorkshire.

John Retter ELLIOTT, Company Transport Adviser, Metal Box PLC.

Andrew Steven ELLIS. For Political Service.

Richard Ernst EURICH, Artist.

David Lloyd CAREY-EVANS. For services to agriculture.

Peter William Vernon EVANS, Senior Adviser Primary, Stockport Local Education Authority.

William Thomas EWING, Registrar, New University of Ulster.

Hugh FAIRLIE, Chairman, Scottish Council for Research in Education.

Desmond Hugh FERRETT, Assistant Collector,
Board of Customs and Excise.

James FLEMING, Principal Professional Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Robin Anthony FLETCHER, D.S.C. For services to Hockey.

Richard Stanley FRANCIS (Dick Francis), Author.

William Grant Paton FRASER, T.D., Non-Executive Board Member, South of Scotland Electricity Board.

Alfred Oscar Henry GALE, Deputy Managing Director, Bristol Division, Dynamics Group, British Aerospace PLC. For services to Export.

Margaret Emma, Mrs. GARDNER, Member, Fareham Borough Council. Mary, Mrs. GARLAND, Area Organiser, South West Counties, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

Albert Raymond GERRARD, lately Vice-Chairman, Civil Service Retirement Fellowship.

Miss Marie Henriette GOOSSENS, Harpist.

Donald GOSSOP, Member, Food, Drink and Packaging Machinery Sector Working Party.

Norman Lancelot GREEN, Member, Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council.

Malcolm GREGORY, Ironstone Consultant, Department of the Environment.

Colonel Markham Baseley HALES, T.D., D.L. (Retd), Chairman, East Anglia, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.

Miss Phyllis May HALLETT, Curator Grade C, National Maritime Museum.

Arthur John Benjamin HALLIDAY, Farmer, Countisbury, Devon.

John Short HAPPEL, General Medical Practitioner, Alresford, Hampshire.

Norman Alexander John HARRY, Executive Director/Chief Designer, Marshalls of Cambridge (Engineering).

Geoffrey William HART, Chairman, Regional Land Drainage Committee, Severn-Trent Water Authority.

Lieutenant Commander John Edwin Ernest Denny HAWARD, D.S.C., R.N. (Retd.), Chairman, Borders and Lothian War Pensions Committee; National Pensions Officer, Royal British Legion, Scotland.

Philip Richard HAYWARD, Consultant, RHM Agriculture Ltd.

Captain Ronald HEDGER, Group Safety Officer and Marine Superintendent, Houlder Offshore Ltd.

Captain Oscar William James HENDERSON, D.L., Chairman, Ulster Sheltered Employment Ltd.

Kenneth Ralph HENSHAW, Chairman, Middle East Navigation Aids Service.

John HERBERT, Headmaster, Llisweri Comprehensive School, Newport.

Christian Mary, The Dowager Lady HESKETH, D.L. For services to the community in Northamptonshire.

Geoffrey Roger HOLLAND, Leader of Covent Garden Planning Team, Greater London Council.

Peter John HURFORD, Organist.

Miss Angela Ray HAYGARTH JACKSON, Manager, Literature Services Section, Pharmaceuticals Division, Imperial Chemical Industries PLC.

Miss Patricia Ann JELLICOE (Mrs. Mayne). For services to Drama.

Alun Parry JONES, District Medical Officer, Somerset District Health Authority.

Doreen Mary, Mrs. KAUFMAN, Member, East Surrey Health Authority.

The Reverend Canon James Goldsworthy KEANE, Chairman, Council for Wales of Voluntary Youth Services.

John Stobart KEITH, Senior Treasurer, Corporation of the Sons of the Clergy.

William Francis Kennedy KERR, Principal, Belfast College of Technology.

John KEYTE, Secretary, Police Superintendents' Association of England and Wales.

John James KILLORAN, Q.F.S.M., Chief Officer, Devon Fire Brigade.