James Daniel DEVLIN, Registrar, General Optical Council.

Roy Trevor DONALDSON, Member, Somerset County Council and Sedgemoor District Council.

James George DUNKLEY, Chairman, Management Committee, School for Dental Therapists.

William Michael EATON, Director, North Yorkshire Area, National Coal Board.

William Grist EBORN, Chairman, The Cottage Homes.

Eric Ray ELLEN, lately Chief Secretary, London Transport Executive.

Captain Richard Kenneth Nicholson EMDEN, D.S.C., R.N. (Retd.), Regional Controller, Dover Region, H.M. Coastguard, Department of Trade.

Hugh Devereux EVANS, Chief Regional Scientific Adviser for Home Defence, London Region.

Thomas William FARTHING, Managing Director, IMI (Titanium) Ltd.

Christopher George Begbie FARWELL, Head-County Secondary School, Eastham, master, Wirral.

Joyce Edith, Mrs. FOSTER. For Political and Public Service.

John William FRAZER, V.R.D., Chairman, Frazer and Haughton Ltd.

John Lowry Dunseath GAILEY, Managing Director, Giddings and Lewis-Fraser Ltd., Abroath.

Miss Mary Geraldine Edith GILES, Principal Department of Education and Science.

John McCune GILMOUR, D.F.M., lately Senior Principal, Department of Health and Social Security.

Roy GOULDING, Chairman, Scientific Sub-Committee of the Advisory Committee on Pesticides.

James Cuthbertson GRAY, Treasurer, Highland Health Board.

Charles Wilson GREEN. For services to Golf. Thomas GREENWELL, Chief Leader Writer, Yorkshire Post.

Harold Norman GREENWOOD, Chief Executive, National Seed Development Organisation Ltd.

Janusz Kazimierz GRODECKI, Professor of Law, University of Leicester.

Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. HAGGART, lately Chief Area Nursing Officer, Tayside Health Board.

Thomas Edward HALL, Member, Bradford City Council.

Bryan HANSON, Leader, Hartlepool District Council.

Major James Richard Edwards HARDEN, D.S.O., M.C., D.L. For services to land drainage in Wales.

Francis William HAWKINS, H.M. Inspector of Schools, Department of Education and Science.

Colin Vernon HEWETT, Q.P.M., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.

Peter Leslie Victor HICKMAN, Managing Director, Space and Communications Division, British Aerospace PLC

Harold HIGGINS, Inspector, Board of Inland Revenue.

Rachel Mary, Lady HIGGS, Area Organiser, West Midlands Counties, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

Norman Chipchase HILDITCH, Regional Secretary, East Midlands Region, British Gas Corporation. Miss Thora HIRD (Mrs. Scott), Actress.

Francis Ronald HIRST, lately Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

George Walter HODGSON. For services to the Keswick Branch, Royal Air Forces' Association. Kim Guy Felix Britton HOWE, Leader, Hammersmith and Fulham London Borough Council.

Hugh Raymond HOWSE, General Manager, External Business and Development, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Squadron Leader Ronald Alfred HUDSON, R.A.F. (Retd.). For Political and Public Service.

John McFarlane HUGHES, Chairman, Glasgow Area Manpower Board.

Michael Carney Gray HUNTER, Chairman/Managing Director, Hunter-Print Group PLC.

Ian Somerville HUTCHISON. For services to local government in Scotland.

Miss Phyllis Dorothy JAMES (Mrs. White), Novelist.

Gilbert JENKINS, M.C. For services to the Sea Cadet Association.

Gladys Mildred, Mrs. JONES, Chairman, Northern Ireland Home Safety Council. Vice Chairman, National Home Safety Committee, Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents.

Silvain Edouard JOSSE, General Medical Practitioner, New Southgate, Haringey.

James KENNEDY, Songwriter.

John Christopher Durham KENYON, Director, J. H. Kenyon Ltd.

Miss Marian Murray KERSHAW, Director, North Western Museum and Art Gallery Service.

Alan Ramon KEYS, D.F.C., Divisional Director of Marketing and Product Support, Warton Division, Aircraft Group, British Aerospace PLC. For services to Export.

George Hubert LEE. For Political and Public Service.

Robert Martin LEE, Chief Probation Officer, Lancashire Probation Service.

Salmond Solomon LEVIN. For services to the Jewish Community in Britain.

Henry Ross LEWIS, Manager, Home Procurement and Exports, The Fyffes Group Ltd.

Lady Mary Rosemary Marie-Gabrielle MANSEL-LEWIS, President, Dyfed Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Andrew Noel LIGHTBODY, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, Cheshire Fire Brigade.

James William LIGHTBOWN, Head, Division of Antibiotics, National Institute for Biological Standards and Control.

Leader, Bury Metropolitan Albert LITTLE, Borough Council.

Walter Francis LONG, Commercial General Manager, Vosper Thornycroft (U.K.), Ltd. For services to Export.

James LOVE. For services to the Young Men's Christian Association Movement.

Bernard LUBERT, Company Chief Engineer, Marks and Spencer PLC

John Menhinick LUKIES, D.L. For services to the community in Essex.

Francis Geoffrey Hugh LUPTON, Deputy Director, Plant Breeding Institute, Cambridge.

Tom McDONALD, Chairman, Armitage and Norton PLC

Alexander Paul Charrier McKEE, Naval Historian. For services to the location of the Mary Rose.

Peter John McLACHLAN, Secretary, Belfast Voluntary Welfare Society

James Lloyd McQUITTY, Q.C., Chairman of Trustees, Ulster Folk and Transport Museum.