Donald George Eric KENT, General Manager, Blyth Harbour Commission.

Michael Donald LAIRD, Architect, Edinburgh.

John LAVELLE, Headmaster, Worsbrough High School, Barnsley.

Richard Alfred LEE, Chief Executive and Secretary, Co-operative Retail Services Limited.

Lesley Madeline, Mrs. LINDSAY, Northern Ireland Trustee, Women Caring Trust.

Bessie Gordon, Mrs. LLOYD, Vice-Chairman, Church Army Board.

Charles Robert LONGMAN, Controller, Engineering and Operations, BBC Television.

Norman Forbes LOW, Governor I, H.M. Remand Centre, Risley.

Ronald Stuart McCULLOCH, Managing Director, Cantrell & Cochrane Limited.

Miss Elaine Maria McDONALD, Ballet Dancer, Scottish Ballet.

Major Keith Roderick Turing MACKENZIE, M.C. For services to Golf.

George Haliburton Dodds MACKIE, Deputy General Manager, Scottish Region, British Rail.

Andrew McMASTER, Senior Principal, Board of Inland Revenue.

Mary Isabella Blewitt, Mrs. McMASTER, Warden and Founder, St. Luke's Home, Oxford.

Miss Ada Winifred MADDOCKS, National Organising Officer, National Association of Local Government Officers.

Wilfrid James Alfred MANN, H. M. Inspector of Schools.

Frederick Charles MARKS, Chief Executive, Motherwell District Council.

Patience Elizabeth, Mrs. MARSHALL. For services to the community in the West Midlands.

Walter Scott MARSHALL, Leader, Minority Group, Derbyshire County Council.

Graham Cyril MASON, Deputy Director, International Affairs, Confederation of British Industry. For services to Export.

Peter Alan MAWSON, Principal, Department of Employment.

Reginald MERCADO, Chairman and Chief Executive, Aerospace Engineering PLC.

George Thomas MEREDITH, lately Director, Social Services, Norfolk County Council.

James MILLER, Director, Greenock Plant, I.B.M. United Kingdom Limited.

James Oliver MORRIS. For public services in Wales.

The Reverend John Marcus Harston MORRIS, Deputy Chairman, National Magazine Company Limited.

Alexander MORRISON, Q.P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, Strathclyde Police.

Commander Edwin Allen MORRISON, D.L., R.N. (Retd.), Chairman, St. John Council for Hampshire.

Richard John MORSE, Q.F.S.M., Chief Officer, West Glamorgan Fire Brigade.

Herbert Stephen MULLALY, Vice-Chairman, C.B.I. Education Foundation.

Charles NEILL, lately Chairman, Northern Ireland Coal Advisory Service.

Howard Millar NIXON. For services to Bookbinding.

Stasys OBCARSKAS, lately Area Nursing Officer, Salop Area Health Authority.

Miss Detta O'CATHAIN (Mrs. Bishop), Marketing Adviser to the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Dilys Mary, Mrs. PALMER, Member of the Board, Washington Development Corporation.

Dennis Stephen PAPWORTH, lately Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Joan, Mrs. PARTRIDGE. For Political and Public Service.

Simon Harry Wood PARTRIDGE, Chairman, Butterworth Law Publishers Limited.

Derek Harley PETERS. For Political Service.

John Milne PETRIE, Engineer and Surveyor, Durham County Council.

Sheila Mary, Mrs. PETTIT, Historic Buildings Representative, Northumbria, The National Trust.

Frederick Forrest POSKITT, Consultant Civil Engineer and Vice-Chairman of the Northern Ireland Water Council.

Kenneth George Charles PREVETTE, lately General Secretary, Cremation Society of Great Britain.

Douglas Arthur QUADLING, Mathematics Tutor, University of Cambridge, Institute of Education.

John Frederick REEVE, Chairman, Costain Civil Engineering Limited. Chairman, C.T.H. (The Thames Barrier Consortium).

Henry Sulien RICHARDS, lately Headmaster, Sir Thomas Jones School, Amlwch, Gwynedd.

David Griffith ROBERTS, Chief Executive, Pilkington Ophthalmic Division, Chance Pilkington Limited.

Keith Edward ROBERTS, Farmer, Suffolk. Deputy Chairman, Meat and Livestock Commission.

William Stewart ROBERTSON, Company Director, Rediffusion PLC. For services to Export. Hugh Nigel Croke ELLIS-ROBINSON, Programme

Hugh Nigel Croke ELLIS-ROBINSON, Programme Director, Mantello Projects, Marconi Radar Systems Limited. For services to Export.

Lieutenant-Colonel James Gray ROUND, D.L. For services to the community in Essex.

Gerald Frederick Gray RUSSELL, First Class Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.

William Bonney RUST, lately Principal, Hammersmith and West London College.

Brian SCHOLES, lately Chief Executive, Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council.

Maurice David SHAFFNER, County Prosecuting Solicitor, West Yorkshire Metropolitan County Council.

Norman Henry SHERRARD, Senior Executive, Industrial Development Board for Northern Ireland.

Donald Herbert SIMPSON, Librarian and Director of Studies, Royal Commonwealth Society.

John Llewellyn SKINNER, Chairman, Derbyshire Committee for the Employment of Disabled Persons.

Professor George TEELING SMITH, Director, Office of Health Economics.

Ralph Morton SMITH, lately Principal, Ministry of Defence.

Gerd Walter Christian SOMMERHOFF, Director, Centre for Creative Technologly, Sevenoaks School, Kent.

Ernest Antony SPENCER, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, National Engineering Laboratory.

Leslie Albert SPICER, Consultant, Institute of Freight Forwarders.

Eric Elliot STABLER, Secretary, National Health Service Prescription Pricing Authority (England).