## K.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

The Reverend William Owen CHADWICK, Regius Professor of Modern History, University Cambridge. President of the British Academy.

The Honourable Thomas Galloway Dunlop GAL-BRAITH, M.P. For Political and Public Service.

## C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Raymon Harry ANNING, Q.P.M., H.M. Inspector of Constabulary.

Miss Barbara Mary ANSELL. For services to Rheumatology

John ARBUCKLE, O.B.E., Chairman of Board of Governors, Scottish Corp Research Institute.

Simon Claude ASHTON. For Political Service in London.

AVERY, Deputy Managing Donald Geoffrey Director, British Nuclear Fuels Ltd.

Barclay James BENNETT, lately Deputy Director, Scottish Courts Administration.

Raymond John BLEASDALE, Director of Estates and Environment, Scottish Development Agency. Timothy Richard Vincent BOLLAND, Chairman, Kent Area Health Authority.

Richard Maddock BREW, Member, Greater London Council.

Peter Neil BROOK, lately Principal, College of Estate Management, Reading.

Bernard Joseph BROWN, Chief Commoner, City

David John Bowes BROWN, Managing Director, D. J. B. Engineering Ltd. For services to Export.

John BROWN, lately Chairman of Engineering Science and Engineering Research Board. Council.

Squadron Leader Kenneth Francis MacKay BUSH. For Political and Public Service in Eastern England.

Philip David CARTER, Managing Director, Littlewoods Organisation Ltd.

Leonard Joseph John CLARK. For services to conservation.

Bertram COHEN, Nuffield Professor of Dental Science, Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Raymond COLEGATE, Group Director, Economic Services, Civil Aviation Authority.

Reuben CONRAD, lately Member, Medical Research Council Applied Psychology Unit.

Miss Dorothy Rosemary Anna COOPER, Assistant

Secretary, Board of Customs and Excise.
Charles Raymond CORY, Chairman, South Glamorgan Area Health Authority.

Ian Dewar COUTTS, Chairman, Finance Committee, Association of County Councils.

Eileen Rosemary, Mrs. COWLEY. For Political and Public Service in South Eastern England.

Oliver Jasper COX, Architect, Shankland/Cox Partnership.

Meredith DAVIES (Albert Meredith Davies). For services to music.

Anthony Peter de BOER, Member, National Bus Company.

Hugh Edward de WARDENER, M.B.E., Professor of Medicine, Charing Cross Hospital Medical School, University of London.

Donald Roy DONALDSON, M.V.O., A.F.C., lately Chairman, Baltic Exchange

Sir William Stratford DUGDALE, Bt., M.C., D.L.,

Chairman, Severn Trent Water Authority.

Michael ELLIOTT, Deputy Director and Head of Insecticides and Fungicides Department, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden.

Arnold ELTON. For Political and Public Service. James Alan FOWLES, Executive Director, Middle Band, Department of Transport.

Francis Ross GIBB, Joint Managing Director, Taylor Woodrow Construction Limited.

Professor Francis John GILLINGHAM, M.B.E., President, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh.

Peter Gordon GOWER. For Political Service.

John Michael WALLACE-HADRILL, Chichele Professor of Modern History, University of Ox-

Alexander HARBINSON, Chairman, Northern Ireland Staffs Council for the Health and Social Services.

Patrick Kennard HARRISON, Secretary, Royal Institute of British Architects.

Professor Stephen William HAWKING. For services to astronomical research.

Anthony HOLMES, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

James Caldwell HOUSTON, Dean of the Medical and Dental Schools, Guy's Hospital.

Alan Thomas HOWARTH. For Political Service. Philip Arthur Booley HUGHES, Chairman, Logica Holdings. For services to Export.

Ian Sutherland IRWIN, Deputy Chairman and Managing Director, Scottish Transport Group

Leslie Edwin Elloway JEANES, Chief of Public Relations, Ministry of Defence. Major Maurice JEWELL, T.D. For Political Ser-

vice in the West Midlands. Leslie Charles KEMP, Chairman, Construction In-

dustry Training Board.

Thomas Sheldon KILPATRICK, Chairman, Foundries Economic Development Committee. Ronald Luke LATHAM, Directing Grade A, Mini-

stry of Defence. Antony Maltravers LEGGE, lately Editor, Farm-

ers' Weekly. Bryan Charles LINDLEY, Director of Technology,

Dunlop Limited. Robert Cowburn LIVESEY, Director and Secretary, National Ports Council.

Professor Charles Ronald LOWE, Chairman, Industrial Injuries Advisory Council.

William McCAMLEY, Chief Industrial Pollution Inspector, Scottish Development Department.

George Douglas MACAULAY, Director-General of

Printing, H. M. Stationery Office. Eric Wallace McDOWELL, Chairman, Industries Development Advisory Committee, Northern Ireland.

John McKEE, O.B.E. For Political and Public Service in Northern England.

John Stuart MACLURE, Editor, The Times Educational Supplement.

James Alexander Strachan McPHERSON. Political and Public Service in Scotland.

John MANDUELL, Principal, Royal Northern College of Music.