- William Charles LEECH. For charitable services. Professor Dennis Samuel LEES, Chairman, National Insurance Advisory Committee.
- Professor Hermann LEHMANN. For services to Clinical Biochemistry.
- James WALKER-LOVE, Deputy Chairman, Meat and Livestock Commission.
- Miss Lilian Louise LOWNE, Assistant Secretary, Department of Industry.
- Jacqueline Lois Douglas, Mrs. LYSAGHT. For political and public service in Wales.
- Murdo Donald MACLEOD, lately Assistant Controller, Home Office.
- Frederick (Francis) Alexander MANN. For services to International Law.
- Peter Lewis MARTIN, Partner, The Oscar Faber Partnership.
- Professor Charles William Noel MILES, Chairman, Agricultural Wages Board for England and Wales.
- The Very Reverend William Fenton MORLEY, Chairman, Church of England Pensions Board.
- Frank Osman MORRIS, General Secretary, Working Men's Club and Institute Union Ltd.
- George MORRISON, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, Fire Authority for Northern Ireland.
- John Farbon MOULTRIE, Leader, Havering London Borough Council.
- Frank Herbert MUIR, Writer and Broadcaster.
- Geoffrey Claude NICHOLS, O.B.E., D.F.C., Chairman, Rotaprint Ltd. For services to Export.
- Denis NORDEN, Writer and Broadcaster.
- Victor John OSOLA, Group Chief Executive, Redman Heenan International Ltd.
- Margaret Christina Vera, Mrs. PARFITT, Chairman, Social Services Association of Metropolitan Authorities.
- Cecil Allen PARKER, Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Arthur PEARSON. For political and public service in Northern England.
- Vera Joyce Mabel, Mrs. POOLE, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Derek Hair PRINGLE, President, Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce and Manufactures.
- Arthur Shelley PROPHET, Professor of Dental Surgery, University of London.
- Miss Eirlys Margaret REES, President, Royal College of Nursing.
- Alexander Allan ŘENNIE, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, West Mercia Constabulary.
- Frederick William RIMMER, Gardiner Professor of Music, University of Glasgow.
- Joseph Hunter SAPHIR, Chairman, Saphir Sons and Company Ltd.
- Professor Leonard Bertram SCHAPIRO. For services to Russian studies.
- Geoffrey John David SEATON. For political and public service in Greater London.
- Reginald Arthur SHOOTER, Professor of Medical Microbiology, University of London.
- Henry George SIMPSON, O.B.E., Controller of Housing, Greater London Council.
- Albert Edward SLOMAN, Vice-Chancellor, University of Essex.
- Norman Brian SMITH, Director, Imperial Chemical Industries Ltd.
- Robert Courtney SMITH. Chairman, Scottish United Investors Ltd.

- Rosemary Morland, Mrs. SMITHERMAN. For political and public service in South Eastern England.
- Kenneth Walter Lawrence STEELE, O.B.E., K.P.M., lately Chief Constable, Avon and Somerset Constabulary.
- John Edgar STEVENS, Professor of Medieval and Renaissance English, University of Cambridge. For services to Musicology.
- Maurice Johnson STOAKES, Vice-Chairman, British Poultry Federation.
- Michael Francis STRACHAN, M.B.E., Chairman, Ben Line Steamers Ltd. and Ben Line Containers Ltd.
- Arthur SUDDABY, Provost. City of London Polytechnic.
- Peter Arthur Storey TAYLOR, lately Chief of Administration, Bank of England.
- Emyr THOMAS, D.L., General Manager, Telford New Town Development Corporation.
- Norman THOMAS, H.M. Chief Inspector of Schools, Department of Education and Science.
- John Brian THOMPSON, Director of Radio, Independent Broadcasting Authority.
- John Evans TUDOR. For public service in Wales. Peter Frank George TWINN, Second Secretary,
- Natural Environment Research Council.
- Ronald UNGER, Personnel Director. British Airports Authority.
- Thomas Edwin UTLEY, Leader Writer, Daily Telegraph.
- Derek Daniel VONBERG, Director, Cyclotron Unit, Medical Research Council.
- Charles Fred WARD, lately Chairman, Dobson Park Industries Ltd. For services to Export.
- Edgar George WHITBREAD, Deputy Chief Inspector of Factories, Health and Safety Executive, Department of Employment.
- Mary, Mrs. WHITEHOUSE, General Secretary, National Viewers and Listeners Association.
- Cyril George WICKHAM, Chairman, Standing Advisory Committee on patents.
- Leslie Clarence YOUNG, Chairman, J. Bibby and Sons Ltd.
- Thomas Newton Hayward YOUNG, M.B.E.. For political and public service in Scotland.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- James Burnside ADDISON, lately Works Manager, Drungans Works, Plastics Division, Dumfries, Imperial Chemical Industries Ltd.
- Syed Mohsin Mohammed ALI, Diplomatic Editor, Reuters Ltd.
- Hubert ALLEN, Chairman and General Manager. Yelloway Motor Services Ltd.
- Albert Alfred James ANDERSON. For political and public service in the South East.
- George Thomas ARNOLD, Divisional Organiser, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers. Northumberland (Tyne and Blyth).
- Wallace Gerald ATKINSON, Chairman and Chief Executive, London Bridge Engineering Ltd.
- Harry Allen BAILEY, Q.P.M., Assistant Chief Constable, Staffordshire Police.
- Charles George Edmond BANKS, Chairman and Chief Executive, Thomas De La Rue and Company Ltd. For services to Export.