

THIRD SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

of Monday, 20th March 1978

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

TUESDAY, 21st MARCH 1978

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

21st March 1978

THE OUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life upon the undermentioned:

Life Peers

To be a Baroness:

Nora Ratcliff, Mrs. DAVID. Member of Cambridgeshire County Council.

To be Barons:

Aubrey Leland Oakes BUXTON, M.C., D.L. Director, Anglia Television Ltd.; Member, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution 1970-1974.

Sir Francis Arthur COCKFIELD. Lately Chairman, Price Commission.

Alexander Mitchell DONNET, C.B.E. National Chairman 1970-1976 and Scottish Regional Secretary since 1959, National Union of General and Municipal Workers. Formerly Member, General Council of the Trades Union Congress 1972-1976. David Thomas Gruffydd EVANS. President, Liberal

Party; Member, Merseyside County Council. John Charles HATCH. Lecturer. Formerly Head of Commonwealth Department, Labour Party Head-

quarters.

William HOWIE. Member of Parliament for Luton 1963-1970; Lord Commissioner of the Treasury 1966-1967; Comptroller, H.M. Household 1967-1968; Vice-Chairman, Parliamentary Labour Party 1968-1970; Member, Council of Institution of Civil Engineers 1964-1967.

Jeremy Nicolas HUTCHINSON, Q.C. Formerly Recorder of Bath; Member, Committee on Immigration Appeals.

John Denis LEONARD, O.B.E. Lately Chairman, South Glamorgan County Council; Lately Member,

Cardiff City Council.

Victor MISHCON, D.L. Member, London County Member, Greater London Member, National Theatre Council 1946-1965. Council 1965-1967. Board.

John Derek PAGE. Member of Parliament for King's Lynn Division of Norfolk 1964-1970.

Cambridge Chemical Company Ltd.

Cyril Thomas Howe PLANT, C.B.E. General Secretary, Inland Revenue Staff Federation 1960-1976. Lately Member, Community Relations Commission; Race Relations Board. Member, Monopolies and Mergers Commission.

The Right Honourable Sir Peter Anthony Grayson RAWLINSON, Q.C., M.P. Member of Parliament for Epsom 1955-1974 and for Epsom and Ewell since 1974. Attorney General 1970-1974.

William Henry SEFTON.

Development Corporation. Chairman, Runcorn Member, Merseyside County Council.

The Right Honourable Sir Arthur Christopher John SOAMES, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.B.E. Lately Vice-President, Commission of the European Communities. H.M. Ambassador to France 1968-1972. Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food 1960-1964. Member of Parliament for Bedford Division of Bedfordshire 1950-1966.

Thomas TAYLOR, C.B.E. Member, North West Region Economic Planning Council. Lately Mem-

ber, Blackburn Borough Council.

LONDON