Major-General Ernest Lionel Ouseley HOOD, Q.H.P. (115984), late Royal Army Medical Corps.

Major-General Robert LYON, O.B.E. (288788), late Royal Regiment of Artillery.

Brigadier Eileen Joan NOLAN, Honorary A.D.C. (345795), Women's Royal Army Corps.

Major-General Norman Henry SPELLER (155921), late Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT)

K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Marshal Alfred Henry Wynne BALL, C.B., D.S.O., D.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Marshal Michael James BEETHAM, C.B.E., D.F.C., A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

C.B

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Vice-Marshal Arthur Daniel BUTTON, O.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Ian Robert CAMPBELL, C.B.E., A.F.C., Royal Air Force (Retired).

Air Vice-Marshal George John KEMP, Royal Air Force (Retired).

Air Vice-Marshal Patrick Joseph O'CONNOR, O.B.E., Q.H.P., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Harry Charles SOUTHGATE, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Order of the Bath (Civil Division)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Sir Arthur Lucius Michael CARY, K.C.B., Permanent Under-Secretary of State, Ministry of Defence.

K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Peter Willoughby CAREY, C.B., Second Permanent Secretary, Department of Industry.

Kenneth Henry CLUCAS, C.B., Permanent Secretary, Department of Prices and Consumer Protection.

Lancelot ERRINGTON, C.B., Second Permanent Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security.

Richard Brian Meredith KING, C.B., M.C., Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Overseas Development.

Ronald Walter RADFORD, C.B., M.B.E., Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Colin Faulds ALLAN, Under Secretary, Department of the Environment.

John Alexander ATKINSON, D.F.C., Deputy Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security. Kenneth Edward COUZENS, Deputy Secretary, H.M. Treasury.

Frederick Henry EAST, Director, Royal Armament Research and Development Establishment, Ministry of Defence.

John Martin FEARN, Secretary, Scottish Education Department.

William John GRAY, lately Medical Superintendent and Governor, Grendon Prison.

Eugene GREBENIK, Principal, Civil Service College. John Michael GREEN, Deputy Chairman, Board of Inland Revenue.

Maurice Kingston HARRIS, Permanent Secretary, Northern Ireland Civil Service Group, Northern Ireland Office.

John Audley HARRISON, Principal Director, Ministry of Defence.

Brian David HAYES, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Ian Francis HUDSON, Secretary, Royal Commission on the Distribution of Income and Wealth.

Michael James JARDINE, Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions.

Michael James KERRY, Solicitor, Department of Industry.

James Richard MADGE, Deputy Secretary, Department of the Environment.

Douglas Anthony NEWTON, Senior Registrar, Principal Registry of the Family Division of the High Court.

Philip NICHOLLS, lately Commissioner for Administration and Finance, Forestry Commission.

Edward Hugh SIMPSON, Deputy Secretary, Department of Education and Science.

Brian George TUCKER, O.B.E., Deputy Secretary Department of Energy.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

1st January 1976

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Stanley George BROWNE, O.B.E., Director, Leprosy Study Centre. Consultant Adviser, Department of Health and Social Security.

Kenneth William COTTERILL, Under Secretary, Exports Credits Guarantee Department.

Alexander ELKIN, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Andrew Gardiner LYALL, Assistant Secretary, Department of the Environment.

Leonard MULLINS, Director of Research, The Malaysian Rubber Producers' Research Association.