for the following appointments to the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:—

To be an Ordinary Commander of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order: Commodore James Cairns Morrow, D.S.O.,

D.S.C., Royal Australian Navy.

To be an Ordinary Officer of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Captain James Kenneth Walton, Royal Australian Navy.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Lieutenant - Commander Eli HOPKINS, V.R.D., R.A.N.R. Elford Bartlett

Senior Commissioned Boatswain Alfred Joseph HAYTER, R.A.N.V.R.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.1. 31st May, 1956.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, and on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to give orders for the following promotion in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

To be an Ordinary Commander of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent

Brigadier Lawrence George CANET, O.B.E., A.D.C. (3/42), Australian Staff Corps.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Charles Victor Anderson, E.D. (3/37577), Royal Australian Army Ordnance Corps.

Matthew Dwyer, Colonel John (4/35213), Royal Australian Army Medical Corps.

Lieutenant-Colonel Ralph Treyelyan ELDRIDGE (3/164), Australian Staff Corps.

Lieutenant-Colonel Guy Henry FAWCETT (4/19), Australian Staff Corps.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Captain Mostyn Reginald BEAGLEHOLE (4/20975), Royal Australian Infantry Corps.

Captain (Quartermaster) David Allan Danson (3/294), Royal Australian Infantry Corps.

Captain Joseph Alexander George DAVEY (3/37692), Royal Australian Army Ordnance

Major (temporary) Frederick Bruce HAIGH (1/18351), Royal Australian Engineers.

Captain (temporary) Harold Ernest McHenry (3/92529), Royal Australian Infantry Corps. Major Brenden Stanislaus Savage (2/380),

Australian Staff Corps.

Major John Anthony Springhall (2/79011), Royal Australian Infantry Corps.

Captain Frederick Browning Wood (3/40017), Australian Staff Corps.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.1.

31st May, 1956.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, and on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to give orders for the following appointments to the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:—

To be an Ordinary Commander of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :-

Group Captain William Norman Gibson, D.F.C., Royal Australian Air Force.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Wing Commander Reginald Bruce BURRAGE, D.F.C. (0365), Royal Australian Air Force. Wing Commander Percy Stuart Kennedy (03441), Royal Australian Air Force.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Squadron Leader William Carlyle Keritz (033150), Royal Australian Air Force.

Squadron Leader James Waller WHITE (03532),

Royal Australian Air Force.
Warrant Officer Frank Henry MOBBERLEY (A3726), Royal Australian Air Force.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.1.

31st May, 1956.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, and on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Lieutenant-General William BRIDGEFORD, C.B., C.B.E., M.C., of Melbourne, Chief Executive Officer, XVI Olympiad, since 1953.

Ivan Nello Holyman, Esq., M.C., of Toorak, Victoria. For his contribution to transportation.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:— Alfred George Brown, Esq., M.C., of Kew,

Victoria. For services to the Red Cross. Edwin William Hicks, Esq., of Elsternwick, Victoria, Secretary, Department of Air.

John Silvester Hutcheon, Esq., Q.C., Albion, Queensland. For services to cricket. Sydney Smith, Esq., O.B.E., of Chatswood, New South Wales. For services to cricket. Brigadier Charles Chambers Fowell Spry, D.S.O., of Toorak, Victoria. For dis-

tinguished public service.

George Gribbon Sutcliffe, Esq., of Canberra.

For distinguished public service. Edward Ronald WALKER, Esq. Australian Permanent Representative to the United Nations. For distinguished public services.