

The Lone Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

For Table of Contents see last page

FRIDAY, 18 MARCH, 1955

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 17th day of March, 1955.

PRESENT,

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council. Sheriffs appointed by Her Majesty in Council for the year 1955:-

ENGLAND.

(except Cornwall and Lancashire.)

Bedfordshire-Horace Richard Neate, Esq., of 4, Rothsay Gardens, Bedford.

Berkshire-Major Richard Wellesley, M.C., of Old Buckland House, Faringdon.

Buckinghamshire—Edward Datchet Court, Datchet. -Edward Henry Dulley, Esq., of

Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire (Isle of Ely names)—William Guy Ruston, Esq., of Norden House, New Road, Chatteris, Cambs.

Cheshire-Hugh Rupert Granger, Esq., of Littleton Hall, Chester.

Cumberland-Major Charles Spencer Richard Graham, of Crofthead, Longtown.

Derbyshire-Captain Humphrey Bache Christopher

Davie, of Stanton Hall, near Matlock.

Devonshire—Sir Peter William Hoare, Bt., of Luscombe Castle, Dawlish.

Dorset—Admiral Sir Victor Alexander Charles Crutchley, V.C., K.C.B., D.S.C., of Mappercombe Manor, Powerstock, Bridport.

urham—Major Sir Basil Robert James Simpson, Bt., O.B.E., of Bradley Hall, Wylam.

Essex—Samuel Ranulph Allsopp, Esq., M.B.E., of Alsa Lodge, Stansted Mountfitchet.

Gloucestershire—Major John Edward Buckingham Pope, of Upton Grove, Tetbury.

Herefordshire—Sir Frederick John Burrows, G.C.S.I.,

G.C.I.E., of Thrushes Nest, 37, Rope Walk, Rosson-Wye.

Hertfordshire—Lieut.-Colonel Robert Peter McMullen, D.S.O., M.B.E., T.D., of Westmill Bury, near Buntingford.

Kent-Jasper Beale Neame, Esq., of Cratloe, Faversham.

eicestershire—Lieut.-Colonel Alexander Edward Kirkpatrick, of Lowesby Hall. William Leicestershire-

Lincolnshire-Sir John Denton Marsden, Bt., of Thorpe Hall, Louth.

County of London-William Antony Acton, Esq., of 115, Eaton Square, S.W.1.

Middlesex—Charles William Skinner, Esq., of 96, Alderman's Hill, Palmers Green, N.13.

Monmouthshire—Lieut.-Colonel John

Griffiths, of The Cottage, Lower Machen.

Norfolk—Raymond John Steffe Crisp, Esq., of Kirby Cane Hall.

Northamptonshire—Major Hereward Wake, M.C., of Courteenhall, Northampton.

Northumberland—Sir Charles Reginald Francis Morrison-Bell, Bt., of High Green, Tarset. Nottinghamshire—Sir Stuart Coldwell Goodwin, Kt., of Hexgreave Park, Farnsfield.

Oxfordshire—Major Alexander Alfred Miller, of Shotover House, Wheatley.

Rutland—Air Marshal Sir John Eustace Arthur Baldwin, K.B.E., C.B., D.S.O., of Ketton Hall.

-Arthur Frederick Vavasour McConnell, Shropshire-Esq., of Hampton Hall, Worthen.

Somersetshire-Major-General Roger Evans, C.B., M.C., of Stocklinch, near Ilminster.

County of Southampton—Capt. The Honourable John Bernard Bruce, R.N. (Retd.), of Itchen Lodge, Itchen Abbas, near Winchester.

Staffordshire—Edward Walter Thompson, Esq., of

Gatacre Park, near Bridgnorth, Salop.

Suffolk—Major The Honourable James Perrott Philipps, T.D., of Dalham Hall, Newmarket. Surrey—Colonel The Honourable Charles Guy Cubitt, D.S.O., T.D., of High Barn, Effingham, Leatherhead.

Sussex—Gavin Astor, Esq., of Wickenden Manor, Sharpthorne, near East Grinstead.

Warwickshire—George Tom Mills, Esq., of Park House, Park Hill, Kenilworth.

Westmorland—Lieut.-Colonel Henry Christopher White Bowring, of Whelprigg, Kirkby Lonsdale.
Wiltshire—Colonel Sir Geoffrey Ronald Codrington, K.C.V.O., C.B., C.M.G., C.B.E., D.S.O., T.D., of Roche Court, Winterslow, Salisbury.
Worcestershire—Edward Henry

Worcestershire—Edward Harry Osmund Carpenter, Esq., of Holbeache, Trimpley, near Bewdley.

Yorkshire—Colonel Frederick Austin Neill, C.B.E., D.S.O., T.D., of Whinfell, Whirlow, Sheffield, 11.

WALES.

NORTH AND SOUTH.

Anglesey-Major Frederick Noel Carpenter, of Carreglwyd, Llanfaethlu, Holyhead.

Breconshire—David Lloyd Jones, Esq., of "High-clere", St. Lawrence Road, Chepstow.

Caernarvonshire—Doctor Robert Alun-Roberts, of Hafod-y-Coed, Victoria Drive, Bangor.

Cardiganshire—Doctor Peter Williams Edwards, M.B.E., of Loggerheads, Market Drayton, Shropshire, and sometime of The Laurels, Aberystwyth.

Carmarthenshire-Doctor Hugh William Philipps, of Clyngwynne, Llanboidy, Whitland. Denbighshire-John William Griffith, Esq., of Garn, Denbigh.

Flintshire—Alfred Hugh Rutt, l Basingwerk Greenfield, Holywell. Esq., B.E.M., of

Glamorgan—Charles Reginald Wheeler, Esq., C.B.E., of Highfield, Bradford Place, Penarth.

Merionethshire-Charles Morris Jones, Brynmelyn, Bala.

Montgomeryshire—Major William Mason Marriott, C.B.E., of Park House, Powis Castle Park, Welshpool.

Pembrokeshire—Sir James Frederick Rees, Kt., of 3, Hill Park, Tenby.

Radnorshire—Guy Frederick Chambers, Esq., of Green Ridge, Kington, Herefordshire.