881268 Sergeant Ida Washington Hooper (1708).

890567 Corporal Sheila Madeleine

McDougall (1709).

421550 Aircraftwoman 2nd Class Helen Katherine Pocock (1710).

890531 Aircraftwoman 2nd Class Ruth Eileen Pollock (1711).

421879 Aircraftwoman 2nd Class Eileen Waterman (1719).

undermentioned Assistant Section Officers relinquish their appointments:

15th Feb. 1941.

Elizabeth Marianne HILL (931).

18th Mar. 1941.

Joan Forbes (800).

22nd Mar. 1941. Marjorie Matilda Thomson (1278).

24th Mar. 1941.

The Hon. Lucy Agnes Vera FALKINER (1316).

Assistant Section Officer Kathleen THOMPSON (672) relinquishes her appointment on account of ill-health. 1st Apr. 1941.

> India Office, 4th April, 1941.

The KING has been pleased to appoint Maj.-Gen. E. P. Quinan, C.B., D.S.O., O.B.E, to be a District Comdr., 12th Mar.

The KING has been pleased to appoint Col. (temp. Brig.) R. B. Deedes, O.B.E., M.C., to be a District Comdr., 12th Mar.

The KING has approved the following promotions, appointments retirements, etc.:-

INDIAN ARMY.

Maj.-Gen. W. A. K. Fraser, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., M.V.O., M.C., to be a Divl. Comdr. 15th Jan. 1941. (In substn. of the notifn. in the Gazette of the 14th Feb. 1941.)

Col. (temp. Brig.) R. B. Deedes, O.B.E., M.C., to be Actg. Maj.-Gen. 12th Mar. 1941.

The undermentioned officers whose appts. to temp. commns. were notifd. in the Gazettes of the 5th May 1939 and the 4th Aug. 1939 are granted permanent commns. with effect from the dates stated:-

To be Lts.

4th Nov. 1940.

Temp. Maj. A. Leslie.

Temp. Capt. E. D. Morgan.

15th Nov. 1940.

H. M. V. N. Smith.

J. D. A. Bonnor-Moris. Temp. Maj. G. B. Vinycomb.

Lts. to be Capts.

4th Nov. 1940.

Temp. Maj. A. Leslie. Temp. Capt. E. D. Morgan.

15th Nov. 1940.

H. M. V. N. Smith. J. D. A. Bonnor-Moris.

Temp. Maj. G. B. Vinycomb.

Emergency Commissions.

The undermentioned appts. are made: -

To be Lt. (O.M.E.).

Thomas Ritchie Brown, 8th Mar. 1941, with seniority 8th Mar. 1936.

To be 2nd Lts.

15th Mar. 1941.

James Alison Wilson.

John Bennett Harrison.

David Keenan.

Peter Bernard Leaman.

Alan Fleury Peacock.

John Charles George Rennie.

The name of Lt. Frank Charles Layfield Broadribb is as now stated and not as notifd. in the Gazette of the 7th Feb. 1941.

The notifns. in the Gazettes of the 6th Dec. 1940 and the 14th Feb. 1941 regarding the appt. to emergency commns. of the undermentioned are hereby cancelled:—

E. Parker.

C. E. Clarke.

D. F. C. McAlpin.

INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Maj. (Comy.) F. Austin retires, 1st Feb. 1941.

Memoranda.

Capt. C. P. B. Sawyer, I.A., ret., to be Bt.

Maj., 2nd March 1940.

Lt. J. F. Sawle, I.A., ret., relinquishes the rank of Lt. on enlistment into the ranks of the Army, 15th Jan. 1940.

> Burma Office, 4th April, 1941.

ARMY IN BURMA RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The undermentioned officers relinquish their commns.:

Capt. S. Young, 12th Aug. 1940.

Capt. H. F. Robertson, 9th Nov. 1940.

Lt. S. R. Griffin, 23rd Sept. 1940.

EMERGENCY COMMISSIONS.

The undermentioned appts. are made:— To be Lts.

21st Oct. 1940.

Sanat Kumar Mojumder.

Saw Marcus Paw.

Abul Bazal Mohamed Maswood Khan.

1st Nov. 1940.

Brahm Nath Sudan.

Than Aung.

Ian Douglas Alexander.

Wee Beng Chiang.

Maung Myint (Alias) Dutta James.

Madhusudan Nag. Arcot Sundarama Subramani.

Ali Akbar Ispahany.

Ridley Martin Hall.

9th Nov. 1940.

Inder Singh.

Ambady Velayudha Menon.

1st Dec. 1940.

Alfred Leonard Craddock, M.B.

Benedict Veda, M.B.