The following Payr. Cdrs. placed on the retired list with rank of Payr. Capts. :-

William B. Penny. Charles E. F. Webb. Charles J. Ferguson. William L. Davy. Charles S. Inglis. Robert E. Smith. Graham Hewlett, C.B. George A. Koe. 1st Jan. 1921.

Admiralty, 2nd January, 1921.

Payr. Lieut.-Odr. James E. Pitcairn to be Payr.-Cdr. 2nd Jan. 1921.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County Palatine of Chester.

Sir Frederick Norman, Knight, Lyndhurst, Higher Runcorn, Cheshire, to be a Deputy Lieutenant. Dated the twenty-second day of December, 1920. 167

AIR MINISTRY NOTICE TO AIRMEN. No. 138 of the year 1920.

HOLLAND: REGULATION GOVERNING FLYING HEIGHT-CUSTOMS FACILI-TIES AT DE MOK.

(355042/20.)

It is hereby notified :

1. The Dutch Government have issued instructions forbidding aircraft to fly over any town or closely-inhabited area in Holland except at such a height that it will always be possible to glide to a point outside such town or area with engines stopped. In no case shall this height be less than 1,000 metres (approximately 3,300 ft.).

2. Notice to Airmen No. 126 of 17th November, 1920, is amended as follows: ---DE MOK.---Civil and Naval Seaplane

Station.

Customs.—A machine cannot ordinarily be cleared by the Customs authorities at this station, but arrangements may be made for Customs examination by obtaining permission from the Commandant prior to arrival. In this case the Commandant will notify the Customs authorities. Normally seaplanes should proceed to Schellingwoude.

By Command of the Air Council,

W. F. Nicholson.

Air Ministry London, W.C. 2, 17th December, 1920.

Air Ministry, 4th January, 1921.

FOREIGN DECORATIONS.

The following decorations have been conferred by the Allied Powers on the Officers of the Royal Air Force in recognition of valuable services rendered in connection with the War:-

His Majesty the KING has given unrestricted permission to the Officers to wear the decorations in question.

CONFERRED BY HIS MAJESTY THE EMPEROR OF JAPAN.

The Order of the Sacred Treasure, First Class. Air Marshal Sir Hugh Montague Trenchard, Bart., K.C.B., D.S.O.

The Order of the Rising Sun, Second Class. Major-General Sir Frederick Hugh Sykes, G.B.E., K.C.B., C.M.G.

The Order of the Rising Sun, Third Class.

Colonel Edward Humphrey Davidson, C.B.E., $\mathbf{M}.\mathbf{C}$

Lieut. Colonel Archibald Campbell Holms Maclean, C.B.E.

The Order of the Sacred Treasure, Third Class.

- Wing Commander Bertram Richard White Beor, O.B.E.
- Lieut.-Colonel Thomas Brocklehurst Phillips, **O.B.E**.
- Lieut.-Colonel Ronald Dockray Waterhouse, C.M.G.

The Order of the Rising Sun, Fourth Class.

- Squadron Leader Leslie Frederick Forbes, M.C.
- Squadron Leader Frederick William Stent, **M.C**.

Major Gerald Graham Adeley

Major Reginald Chadwick, M.C., D.C.M.

The Order of the Rising Sun, Fifth Class.

Captain William Hugh Jackson Eldridge.

Captain Francis Gordon Hogarth.

Captain Robert Russell Prentice.

Lieutenant Denis Charles William Sanders, A.F.C.

CONFERRED BY HIS MAJESTY THE KING OF THE BELGIANS.

Ordre de la Couronne, Officier.

Lieut.-Colonel Thomas Brocklehurst Phillips, **O.B.E**.

Air Ministry, 4th January, 1921.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

FLYING BRANCH.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers:-

William Murphy (since demobilised). 13th Dec. 1919.

Henry George Mayhew (since demobil-ised). 21st Mar. 1920.

Herbert Lansdale (since commn.). 22nd Mar. 1920. relinquished

2nd Lt. Edgar Fulford is antedated in his appointment as 2nd Lt. (A. & S.). 6th July 1918. (Since granted a Short Service Commission.)

Lt. Arthur William Martin relinquishes his temp. R.A.F. commission on appoint-ment to T.F. Reserve, and is permitted to retain his rank.

Lt. Cecil Roy Richards, M.C., is trans-rred to the unempld. list. 26th June ferred to the unempld. list. 1919. (Substituted for notification in London Gazette 5th Aug. 1919 concerning this officer₂)