present and voting, and submitted to His Majesty the King in Council.

Statute for Magdalen College made by the College under the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1877.

Preliminary.

This Statute is supplementary to the existing Statutes of the College, that is to say, the Statutes dated the 16th day of June, 1881, and the 1st day of July, 1881, made for the College by the University of Oxford Commissioners (hereinafter referred to as the Statutes of 1881), as altered by the Statutes dated the 10th day of August, 1888, the 7th day of March, 1899, the 15th day of September, 1902, the 10th day of May, 1905, and the 31st day of May, 1910, made by the College under the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1877.

Waynflete and other Professorships.

In the clause numbered 2 of the Statute as to Waynflete and other Professorships in the Statutes of 1881, £600 shall be substituted for £300, and in clause 6 of the same Statute the words "one member of which Board shall always be the President and another shall be either the Visitor of the College or a person to be chosen by the President and Fellows who shall be elected for a term of years, and shall be reeligible at the end of that term or of any subse-quent term for which he shall have been re-elected" shall be substituted for the words "one member of which Board shall always be the Visitor and another the President of the College" and the said clause shall be read and take effect accordingly.

The Common Seal of the President and Scholars of St. Mary Magdalen College, in the University of Oxford, was hereunto affixed in the presence of



G. E. Baker, Bursar.

Downing Street, July 30, 1910.

The KING has been pleased to approve of the retention of the title of "Honourable" by Archibald Henry Peake, Esq., who has served for more than three years as a Member of the Executive Council of South Australia.

TENDERS FOR LOANS ON TREASURY BILLS.

1. The Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury hereby give notice that Tenders will be received at the Chief Cashier's Office, at the Bank of England, on Monday, the 8th instant, at one o'clock, for Treasury Bills to be issued under the Acts 40 Vic., cap. 2, and 52 Vic., cap. 6, to the amount of £3,600,000, in part replacement of Bills temporarily paid off on 18th and 24th

June, and 9th July. 2. The Bills will be in amounts of £1,000, £5,000, or £10,000. They will be dated the 11th August, 1910, and will be payable at six months after date, viz. :--on the 11th February, 1911.

3. The Tenders must specify the net amount per cent. which will be given for the amounts applied for, and the Tenders of private individuals must be made through a London Banker.

4. The Bills will be issued and paid at the Bank of England.

5. The persons whose Tenders are accepted will be informed of the same on Tuesday, the 9th instant, and payment in full of the amounts of the accepted Tenders must be made to the Bank of England not later than three o'clock on Thursday, the 11th August, 1910.

6. The Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury reserve the right of rejecting any Tenders.

Treasury Chambers, 2nd August, 1910.

EXPLOSIVES ACT, 1875.

The Right Honourable Winston Leonard Spencer-Churchill, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in virtue of the powers conferred on him by section 53 of the Explosives Act, 1875, has appointed Sergeant Patrick McCaffrey, No. 58,256, of the Royal Irish Constabulary, to be an Inspector for Ireland under the said Act.

Whitehall, 29th July, 1910.

Admiralty, July 30, 1910.

The following gentlemen have been appointed agineer Sub-Lieutenants in His Majesty's Engineer Fleet :-

Grice Widenham Smyth. Harold Francis Du Mitand Hunt. Albert Kingsley Dibley. Charles William Lambert. Dennis John Hoare. John Christopher Flint. Aldridge Evelegh. Cecil Roderick Hoare. Harry Edgar Ash. Douglas Hastie Smith. David Henry Lawrence Gill. John Horton Breaks. Brian John Hamilton Wilkinson. Casper Vashon Baker. Frank Norman Bennett. Percy Reginald Rushbrook. To date 1st August, 1910.

The following Staff Paymasters have this day been advanced to the rank of Fleet Paymaster in His Majesty's Fleet :--

Reginald Phelps Walker.

Joseph Hall.

'Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Sub Lieutenant Ernest William Swan to be Lieutenant. Dated 29th July, 1910.

Admiralty, August 1, 1910.

In accordance with the provisions of His late Majesty's Order in Council of 18th October, 1909

Commander Claude William Manners Plenderleath has this day been placed on the Retired List at his own request, with permission to assume the rank of Captain.

In accordance with the provisions of Orders in Council of 22nd February, 1870, and 16th July, 1895

Lieutenant John Walter Elmslie Townsend has this day been placed on the Retired List at his own request.

5582