ROYAL GARRISON ARTILLERY.

Essex and Suffolk; Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur C. Churchman is retired, under the provisions of paragraph 36 of the Regulations for the Territorial Force. Dated 1st July, 1909.

Major Frank W. Leaver to be Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1909.

INFANTRY.

- 5th Battalion (Queen's Edinburgh Rifles), The Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment); Lieutenant Herbert J. Stenhouse resigns his commission. Dated 9th August, 1909.
- 4th Battalion, The Buffs (East Kent Regiment); George Gonville Wycliffe Goodwin to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 21st July, 1909.
- 5th (The Weald of Kent) Battalion, The Buffs (East Kent Regiment); Major Joseph M. Mace to be Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 1st June, 1909.
- 6th Battalion, The Devonshire Regiment; the undermentioned officers to be Lieutenants. Dated 1st July, 1909 :-

Second Lieutenant Arthur A. Seldon. Second Lieutenant John Pearce. Second Lieutenant Gerald B. Oerton.

- 5th Battalion, The Suffolk Regiment; Lieutenant Barnard A. Clay resigns his commission. Dated 30th April, 1909.
- 4th (The Border) Battalion, The King's Own Scottish Borderers; Captain John Sydney Cunningham, The Duke of Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment), to be Adjutant, vice Captain Arthur C. B. Alexander, Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's), whose tenure of that appointment has expired. Dated 26th August, 1909.
- 5th Battalion, The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles); Lieutenant David Donaldson to be Captain. Dated 1st April, 1909.

The undermentioned officers are absorbed into the establishment. Dated 1st April, 1909 :-

Supernumerary Lieutenaut Hugh B. Spens. Supernumerary Lieutenant James A. Brown.

6th Battalion, The Gloucestershire Regiment; Lieutenant Cecil E. Coates to be Captain. Dated 30th June, 1909.

Captain Harold S. Turner resigns his commission. Dated 1st August, 1909.

- 5th Battalion, The East Surrey Regiment; Lieutenant William Hinson, from the 16th (County of London) Battalion, The London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles), to be Lieutenant. Dated 28th July, 1909.
- 4th Battalion. The Hampshire Regiment; Harold Ernest Pierpoint Yorke to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 19th July, 1909.
- 8th (Isle of Wight Rifles, "Princess Beatrice's")
 Battalion, The Hampshire Regiment; Lieutenant Donald W. Ratsey to be Captain. Dated 1st August, 1909.
- 4th Battalion, The Essex Regiment; Cecil Henry Wade to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 24th July, 1909.
- 8th Battalion, The Duke of Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment); Surgeon Lieutenant Thomas C. Cummins resigns his commission. Dated 20th July, 1909.

7th (Deeside) Battalion, The Gordon Highlanders; the undermentioned officers to be Lieutenants. Dated 1st August, 1909:-

Second Lieutenant William Forsyth. Second Lieutenant Kenneth W. Braid.

- 23rd (County of London) Battalian, The London Regiment; Quartermaster and Honorary Captain George C. Nightingale is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 24th February,
- 28th (County of London) Battalion, The London Regiment (Artists' Rifles); Lieutenant-Colonel and Honorary Colonel Robert William Edis, C.B., Retired List (Volunteers), from the Honorary Colonelcy of the 20th Middlesex (Artists') Volunteer Rifle Corps, is appointed to the Honorary Colonelcy of the battalion, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April 1908 Dated 1st April, 1908.

Lieutenant-Colonel Commandant and Honorary Colonel Walter Charles Horsley, from the 20th Middlesex (Artists') Volunteer Rifle Corps, to be Lieutenant-Colonel with the honorary rank of Colonel, with precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated 1st April, 1908.

The undermentioned officers, from the 20th Middlesex (Artists') Volunteer Rifle Corps, are appointed to the battalion, with rank and precedence as in the Volunteer Force. Dated Īst April, 1908.

Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Allan Roughton

May. (To be supernumerary.)

Captain and Honorary Major William Lance Duffield.

Captain and Honorary Major Stanley Chatfeild Clarke.

Captain and Honorary Major Samuel Stagoll

Captain and Honorary Major Harry William Crickmay.

Captain and Honorary Major (Honorary Lieutenant in the Army) Herbert Elliot Edlmann.

Captain and Honorary Major Hubert Johann Scharlieb, C.M.G.

Captain and Honorary Major James Salisbury Frederick Bacon.

Lieutenant Richard Eugene Sharps. Lieutenant Charles Gordon Deverell Innes.

Lieutenant Harry Passmore Edwards. Lieutenant William George West.

Lieutenant James Denis Choisy. Lieutenant Alfred Valentine Keene.

Lieutenant Charles Francis Hill Greenwood.

Lieutenant Ernest Edward Austen. Lieutenant Charles Roberson Park.

Lieutenant Benjamin Croft.

Lieutenant Edward Charles Foster.

Second Lieutenant Arthur John Neame. Second Lieutenant William Herbert Hobday.

Second Lieutenant Alan Francis Royds.

Second Lieutenant Arthur Edward Ferrour

Quartermaster and Honorary Captain Charles Archibald Philip.

Quartermaster and Honorary Captain Charles A. Philip is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 9th August, 1908.

The undermentioned officers resign their commissions, and are granted permission to retain their rank and to wear the prescribed uniform :-

Captain and Honorary Major William L.

Duffield. Dated 29th May, 1909. Captain and Honorary Major James S. F. Bacon. Dated 31st May, 1909.