Major Alexander B. King, from The Royal Irish Regiment, to be Lieutenant-Colonel, halfpay. Dated 26th July, 1908.

The local rank of Captain granted to the undermentioned Officers, whilst serving with the Somali Standing Militia, is continued to them whilst employed as Company Commanders with the King's African Rifles, on the amalgamaticn of the former force with the latter:-

Lieutenant (local Captain) Albert E. H. Breslin, 4th (Queen's Own) Hussars.

Lieutenant (local Captain) Walter Swire, Reserve of Officers.

Captain Arthur S. Lawrance, Middlesex (Duke of Cambridge's Hussars) Yeomanry.

Lieutenant (local Captain) Henry J. G. Bird, The Prince of Wales's Own (West Yorkshire Regiment).

Quartermaster and Honorary Captain James Bett, Quartermaster and Adjutant, Royal Military School of Music, is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 26th July, 1908.

#### ARMY MOTOR RESERVE.

Lieutenant Thomas T. Power resigns his Commission. Dated 29th July, 1908.

### RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The undermentioned Lieutenants are transferred, retaining the rank and seniority which they held while in the Militia. Dated 29th July, 1908:-

Hugh Frederic Gutch, late The Kent Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia).

Albert Noel Campbell Macklin, late The Kent Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia).

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants. Dated 29th July, 1908:-

Honorary Lieutenant Leonard Maberly, late Lieutenant, Imperial Yeomanry.

Charles Mitchell, late Lieutenant, Grenadier Guards.

Albert James Melancthon Saville-Farr, late Lieutenant, 4th Battalion, The East Surrey Regiment.

# SPECIAL RESERVE.

The Sussex Royal Field Artillery, Lieutenant Guy V. Baxendale, from the late Sussex Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia), to be Lieutenant, with effect from 24th May, 1908, retaining the rank and seniority which he held while in the Militia.

## INFANTRY.

d Battalion, The Norfolk Regiment, Second Lieutenant Clarence J. D'E. B. Wodehouse, from the late 3rd (Militia) Battalion, to be 3rd Battalion, Second Lieutenant, with effect from 31st May, 1908, retaining the rank and seniority which he held while in the Militia.

d Battalion, The Gloucestershire Regiment, Captain Gerald C. Gwynn, from the late 3rd 3rd Battalion, (Militia) Battalion, to be Captain, with effect from 7th June, 1908, retaining the rank and seniority which he held while in the Militia.

War Office, Whitehall, 28th July, 1908.

## SPECIAL RESERVE.

In accordance with the terms of the Order in Council, dated 9th April, 1908, the following Militia units, having completed the prescribed period of annual training, are transferred as units of the Army Reserve, and the Officers named, having assented to be transferred, are appointed Officers of the Special Reserve of Officers, retaining the rank and seniority which they held while in the Militia, from the dates stated :-

#### ROYAL FIELD ARTILLERY.

The Cardigan Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia) to be The Cardigan Royal Field Artillery. Dated 5th July, 1908.

Lieutenant-Colonel and Honorary Colonel Gilbert S. Jones.

Captains and Honorary Majors:— Edward C. Rogerson. Edward W. D. Evans.

Captains:-Maurice H. Cazalet. Frederick H. Berryman.
Captain and Honorary Major William
McGildowny.

Lieutenants: -Melville C. D. Cordeaux. Harold B. Way.

The Cornwall and Devon Miners, Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia) to be The Cornwall and Devon Miners, Royal Field Artillery. Dated 21st June, 1908.

Lieutenant-Colonel and Honorary Colonel Harry J. Young-Jamieson.

Captains:-William G. Bedford. Ralph H. Thompson. James G. Cavenagh-Mainwaring.

Charles H. Mallock.

Lieutenants:— Orfeur Cavenagh.

Wilfrid V. H. Butler. Second Lieutenants:-Arthur G. F. Ramsden. George G. Petherick.

The Devon Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia) to be The Devon Royal Field Artillery. Dated 7th

June, 1908. Lieutenant-Colonel and Honorary Colonel Owen W. White.

Major Hamilton W. K. Wait.

Captain and Honorary Major Ernest R. Phillips.

Captains:—

Oswald Tritton. William Vaughan-Jenkins. Lieutenant Edmund S. Lucy.

Second Lieutenants:— Connell Whipple. Charles F. K. Marshall.

The Donegal (The Prince of Wales's) Royal Garrison Artillery (Militia) to be The Donegal (The Prince of Wales's) Royal Field Artillery. Dated 14th June, 1908.

Lieutenant-Colonel and Honorary Colonel William A. G. Saunders-Knox-Gore.

Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel William B. Reed.

Captain and Honorary Major Frederick H. Crawford.