DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACT, 1894.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended February 15th, 1896, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs*).

County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	<u>County</u>	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.
ENGLAND.	No.	No.	ENGLAND.	No.	No.
Bedford	2	10	Warwick	2	11
Berks		1 1	Wilts	8	33
Buckingham	1 5 4	46	Worcester		19
Chester		50	York, East Riding		38
Cumberland	. 1	4	"North Riding		1
Derby	ī '		" West Riding	11	45
Devon		12	,		
Durham	6	17	•		
Essex	1	33			
Gloucester	1 3 2 3	58			
Hants	2	15		· .	-
Hertford		54	WALES.		
Huntingdon		32			
Kent		121	Denbigh	15	1
Lancaster		-33	Glamorgan	5	- 36
Leicester	2	3.	9		
Lincoln, Parts of Lindsey	5	54			
Middlesex		78			
Monmouth		42			
Norfolk		46	•		
Northampton	1	1.	SCOTLAND.		
Soke of Peterborough		11			•
Northumberland		66	Forfar	2 5	81
Notts		11	Midlothian		412
Salop		14	Wigtown	1 -	32
	7	132	· · .		
		40			
Surrey	2	36	TOTAL	117	1,679

* For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected. with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Act :--

- Cheshire.—The county of Chester, and the boroughs of Birkenhead, Chester, Congleton, Crewe, Hyde, Macclesfield, Stalybridge, and Stockport.
- Essex.—The county of Essex (except the Landing-Place for Foreign Animals at Thames Haven in the Port of London), and also comprising the boroughs of Colchester and Southend-on-Sea.
- Lancashire.—The county of Lancaster (except the Hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands), and also comprising the boroughs of Accrington, Ashton-under Lyne, Bacup, Blackburn, Blackpool, Bolton, Bootle, Burnley, Bury, Chorley, Clitheroe, Darwen, Eccles, Haslingden, Heywood, Lancaster, Liverpool, Manchester, Middleton, Mossley, Nelson, Oldham, Preston, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, St. Helens, Salford, Southport, Warrington, Widnes, and Wigan.
- Shropshire.—The county of Salop (except the petty sessional divisions of Oswestry, and Pimbill, and the borough of Oswestry), and also comprising the boroughs of Shrewsbury, and Wenlock.
- Somersetshire.--The county of Somerset (except the petty sessional divisions of Dulverton, and

Board of Agriculture, 18th February, 1896.

Dunster, and the parish of Withiel Florey in the petty sessional division of Wiveliscombe), and also comprising the boroughs of Bath, Bridgwater, and Taunton.

- Staffordshire.—The county of Stafford (except the parish of Upper Arley transferred by Agreement to the county of Worcester), and also comprising the boroughs of Burslem, Burton-upon-Trent, Hanley, Longton, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Stafford, Stoke-upon-Trent, Walsall, Wednesbury, West Bromwich, and Wolverhampton.
- Willshire.—The county of Wilts (except the petty sessional divisions of Tisbury and Mere, and Salisbury and Amesbury), but not comprising the borough of Salisbury.
- Worcestershire.—The petty sessional divisions of Halesowen, Hundred House, Kidderminster, Oldbury, Stourbridge, Stourport, and Tenbury, in the county of Worcester, and also comprising the boroughs of Dudley, and Kidderminster, and also comprising the parish of Upper Arley transferred by Agreement to the county of Worcester from the county of Stafford.
- Yorkshire (West Riding).—The West Riding of the county of York (except the petty sessional division of Ewcross), and also comprising the boroughs of Barnsley, Batley, Bradford, Brighouse, Dewsbury, Doncaster, Halifax, Huddersfield, Keighley, Leeds, Morley, Ossett, Rotherham, Sheffield, and Wakefield.

1048