- Northamptonshire.—The county of Northampton, and the boroughs of Daventry, and Northampton. Soke of Peterborough.—The Soke of Peterborough, and the borough of Peterborough.
- Nottinghamshire.—The county of Nottingham, and the boroughs of East Retford, Newark, and Nottingham.
- Oxfordshire.—The Petty Sessional Division of Bullingdon, in the county of Oxford.
- Shropshire.—The county of Salop, and the boroughs of Bridgnorth, Ludlow, Oswestry, Shrewsbury, and Wenlock.
- Staffordshire.—The county of Stafford, and the boroughs of Burslem, Burton - upon - Trent, Hanley and Shelton, Lichfield, Longton, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Stafford, Stoke-upon-Trent, Tamworth, Walsall, and Wolverhampton.
- Suffolk.-The county of Suffolk, and the boroughs of Beccles, Bury St. Edmunds, Eye, Ipswich, Southwold, and Sudbury.
- Surrey.—The county of Surrey, and the boroughs of Godelming, Guildford, Kingston-on-Thames, and Reigate.
- Sussex.—The county of Sussex, and the boroughs of Arundel, Brighton, Chichester, Hastings, Hove, and Rye.
- Warwickshire.—(1.) So much of the borough of Birmingham, in the county of Warwick, as lies between Jamaica Row, Dean Street, Pershore. Street, and Edgbaston Street.
- (2.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Atherstone, Birmingham, Coleshill, Coventry, Rugby, and Solihull, in the county of Warwick.
- (3.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Stratford, and Warwick, in the county of Warwick, and the borough of Stratford-on-Avon.
- Wiltshire.—(1.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Cricklade, and Swindon, in the county of Wilts.
  (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Everley and Pewsey, in the county of Wilts.
- Worcestershire.—The county of Worcester, and the boroughs of Bewdley, Droitwich, Dudley, Evesham, Kidderminster, and Worcester.
- Yorkshire (East Riding).—The East Riding of the county of York, and the boroughs of Beverley, Hedon, and Kingston-upon-Hull, except the foreign animals wharf, and the lands and buildings in the port of Hull, defined or approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals.
- Forkshire (North Riding).-(1.) The Petty Sessional Division of Bulmer West, in the North Riding of the county of York.
  - (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Allertonshire, in the North Riding of the county of York.
- Yorkshire (West Riding).—The West Riding of the county of York, and the boroughs of Barnsley, Batley, Bradford, Dewsbury, Doncaster, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds, Pontefract, Ripon, Rotherham, Sheffield, and Wakefield, except the foreign animals wharf in the port of Goole defined by the Privy Council for the landing of foreign animals.
- Veterinary Department, Privy Council Office, 11th March, 1881.

### Whitehall, March 10, 1881.

THE Queen has been pleased to grant unto the Reverend Alfred Barry, D.D., D.C.L., the place and dignity of a Canon of the Collegiate Church of St. Peter, Westminster, void by the death of the Reverend Lord John Thynne.

### Whitehall, March 10, 1881.

THE Queen has been pleased to give and grant unto Edward Magnus Meyer, Esq., Her Royal licence and authority that he may accept and wear the Insignia of the Fourth Class of the Order of Saint Vladimir which His Imperial Majesty the Emperor of Russia has been pleased to confer upon him, in approbation of his services while actually and entirely employed by His Imperial Majesty beyond Her Majesty's Dominions.

#### Downing Street, March 9, 1881.

THE Queen has been pleased to appoint Frederic Condé Williams, Esq., to be a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of the Colony of Natal.

### Downing Street, March 10, 1881.

THE Queen has been pleased to appoint Samuel Gilfillan and Frederick Clark Bishop, Esqrs., to be Members of the Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements.

# Downing Street, March 11, 1881.

THE Queen has been pleased to appoint Edward Keens, Esq., to be a Member of the Legislative Council of the Island of Tobago.

#### Admiralty, 10th March, 1881.

The Honourable Henry Holmes A'Court, Seymour Henry Pelham Dacres,

to be Captains in Her Majesty's Fleet.

Lieutenants :

Henry Nelson Alleyne,

Fitzherbert Coddington,

Charles Edward Gissing,

William Henry May,

to be Commanders in Her Majesty's Fleet.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Orders in Council of the 22nd February, 1870, and 29th November, 1879-

Lieutenant Francis John Hamilton Scott Napier has this day been placed on the Retired List of his rank.

## War Office, Poll Mall,

# 11th March, 1881.

- 3014 Foot, Lientenant-General George Vaughan Maxwell, C.B., to be Colonel, vice General C. Ashmore, deceased. Dated 3rd March, 1881.
- 1st Life Guards, Surgeon Thomas William Thompson resigns his Commission. Dated 12th March, 1881.
- 3rd Dragoon Guards, Corporal of Horse Henry Hamilton MacFarlane, from the 1st Life Guards, to be Second Lieutenant, vice J. G. Woodley, promoted. Dated 12th March, 1891.
- 7th Dragoon Guards, Lieutenant Robert A. Vansittart, from the 4th Dragoon Guards, to be Captain, vice W. Mozes, retired. Dated 12th March, 1881.